St Lawrence Defends National Beach Soccer League Title


Sunday, June 26
•Buganda Royal 5-9 St Lawrence

St Lawrence beat Buganda Royal 9-5 in a thrilling final at Njeru to defend the National Beach Soccer League title.

Brian Nkuubi scored four goals while Baker Lukooya, Jonathan Kikonyogo, Allan Katwe, Sulaiman Ochero and Joram Anyama were also on target for SLAU.

Ronald Magwali had a brace and a goal each from Ambrose Kigozi, Paul Lule and Sharif Lubega proved not enough.

St Lawrence (blue) won the title in 2021. UBSA media photos

It was a deserved win for St Lawrence who earlier in the day beat MUBs 6-1 in the semis to reach the final.

It should be noted that both finalists won their respective groups – St Lawrence topped the Monsoon Group while the Hurricane group was won by Buganda Royal in regular season.

Lukooya, Kikonyogo, Katwe and Joshua Lubwama scored in the semis for St Lawrence while Isma Kawawulo’s goal proved to be a mere consolation.

Champions – St Lawrence

Buganda Royal on the other hand beat KIU in the other semifinal, with Ambrose Kigozi and Paul Lule grabbing a brace each.

FUFA Beach Soccer League Season 2021/22 Individual Awards

*MVP – Baker Lukooya, St Lawrence University BSC
*Top Scorer – Ambrose Kigozi (36 goals), Buganda Royal
*Best Goalkeeper – Samson Kirya, Buganda Royal  BSC
*Best Coach – Ssebagala Tonny, Buganda Royal  BSC
*Fair Play – Mutoola BSC
*Best Five – Samson Kirya (GK, Buganda Royal), Jonathan Kikonyogo (St Lawrence),
Allan Katwe (St Lawrence BSC), Baker Lukooya (St Lawrence), Ambrose Kigozi (Buganda Royal BSC)

Buganda Royal

Former Beach Soccer League winners

2009 – Club Tinka BSC
2010 – Braza Braza BSC
2011 – Kabalagala Rangers BSC
2012 – MUBS BSC
2013 – St. Lawrence
2014 – Kira Young BSC
2015 – MUBS BSC
2016 – Nkumba Select BSC
2017 – MUBS BSC
2018 – Isabeti BSC
2019 – St. Lawrence
2020 – Cancelled
2021 – St Lawrence
2022 – St Lawrence



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *