UPL Season Awards: Manzoki Dominant, Full List of Winners


Cesar Manzoki has been crowned as the 2021/22 Uganda Premier League player of the season.

The Vipers striker collected four more accolades in a Pilsner Awards dinner held on Friday evening at Kati Kati.

He took home Top Scorer gong, Most Assists, Players’ Player of the Season and Forward of the season. Te striker was also named in the UPL best XI.

The accolades were all deserved, after a fruitful season in which he scored most goals (18), joint most assists (9),  assists to help Vipers win the title, 8 Pilsner Man of the Match and 1 Playero f the Month award.

Manzoki receives one of his awards from FUFA CEO Edgar Watson

The Central Africa Republic striker who helped Vipers win the UPL title, received 62% from overall votes, the organisers have revealed.

Manzoki beat teammate Milton Karisa and Onduparaka skipper Shaban Muhammad to the player of the season, an award last won by Geoffrey Sserunkuma then at KCCA in 2016/17.

He and Karisa were tied on nine assists each, but UPL considered the striker for having scored more goals (18) than Karisa’s 10.

Other Winners:

UPDF FC were given the fair Play award for their good discipline last season where they only racked up 29 yellow cards and one red card.

UPDF FC won the fair play award, and it was picked by their coach Brian Ssenyondo. Photo by Ismail Mulangwa

Abdulahi Rashid Kawawa (Arua Hill SC) was named the best Young Player ahead of Denis Otim and Emmanuel Okech. The 21-year old scored a total of 8 goals, 1 assist and 3 Pilsner
Man of the Match gongs.

Rashid Kawawa is the league’s young player of the season


Richard Anyama is the goalkeeper of the season ahead of Vipers Fabien Mutombora and Nafian Alionzi (URA) for his 11 Clean Sheets in 18 Matches compared. Mutombora had 9 in 23 matches.

Richard Anyama is the best goalkeeper of the season.

Halid Lwaliwa is the defender of the season ahead of teammate Livingstone Mulondo and Arua Hill’s Joseph Bright Vuni. The Vipers captain who scored 3 goals in 23 games, garnered 50% of the votes.

Siraje Sentamu is the best Midfielder ahead of Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers) and Marvin Youngman (Bright Stars). He had two player of the match gongs in his 25 appearances and beat Bobosi by just one vote.

Siraje Sentamu

Roberto Oliviera was named the coach of the season after helping Vipers to the league title. He was crowned Pilsner Coach of the Month 4 times out of 7 and received 53% from overall votes.

Dr Lawrence Mulindwa was given the Platinum Award. The former FUFA President is the Club President of Vipers SC, Director of St Mary’s Kitende which is one of UPLs biggest school conveyor belt.

Vipers CEO Sam Njuba (right) receives the Coach of the season award on behalf of Roberto Oliveira.

How They Voted:

– The best performers were determined by a process involving different stakeholders that is the fans, media, players, coaches plus a team of technical experts.

– The nomination list was issued out last Saturday by the panel after a public vote.
The public and other stakeholders (Journalists, UPL Coaches and captains) started voting on the three nominees. And a panel on Friday announced the winners from various categories.


The Winners:

1.Player of the Season – Cesar Manzoki (Vipers)

2. Top Goal scorer of the season – Cesar Manzoki (Vipers)

3. Most Assists of the season – Cesar Manzoki

4. Forward of the season – Ceasar Manoki

5. Midfielder of the season – Siraje Ssentamu (Vipers)

6. Defender of the season – Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers)

7. Goalkeeper of the season – Richard Anyama (Arua Hill)

8. Coach of the season – Roberto Oliveira (Vipers)

9. Young Player of the season – Abdulahi Rashid Kawawa (Arua Hill)

10. Players’ player of the season – Cesar Manzoki (Vipers)

11. Coaches’ Player of the season – Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka)

12. Fair Play Team of the season – UPDF FC

13. UPL Best XI – Richard Anyama (Arua Hill), James Begisa (UPDF), Herbert Achai (KCCA), Bright Vuni (Arua Hill), Halid Lwaliwa (Vipers), Siraje Sentamu (Vipers), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Milton Karisa (Vipers), Simon Peter Oketch (BUL), Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka), Cesar Manzoki (Vipers),

14. Platinum Award – Lawrence Mulindwa

Watch here



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *