Lugazi FC Promoted To FUFA Big League


Thursday 16th June
Lugazi FC 1-0 Kajjansi United – Kavumba recreational centre

Lugazi FC beat Kajjansi United 1-0 in the Buganda regional league playoffs played at Kavumba recreational centre in Wakiso to earn a ticket to 2022/23 FUFA Big League.

Anguti Louis scored the only goal of the game as Lugazi emerged champions of the Buganda regional league.

The Augustine Nsumba coached side Lugazi dominated the game from the first minute but they saw a couple of chances missed.

Andabati Ronald missed from close range as he failed to control the ball In front of goal, the skipper Feni Moses Ali also saw his chance cleared off the line by Mbaziira Ashraf.

Kajjansi United saw their close chance on goal come in the 35th minute with Ssimbwa Swaleh missing a keeper to beat off a cross from John Wesley.

Kalanzi Abdul who came in for Feni Ali saw his shot beat the keeper of Kajjansi United Steven Tabu but it couldn’t hit the target as it went wide in the 55th minute of the game.

John Wesley was gifted a clear goal scoring opportunity as the Lugazi defence failed to clear the ball but his effort was paved away for a corner by goalkeeper Nswemu Farouk.

In the 67th minute of the game, Anguti Louis sent in a powerful shot from the freekick which beat goalkeeper Steven Tabu to put Lugazi in a deserved lead.

It was the turning point of the game as Lugazi switched to a more defensive game to protect their lead which they perfected as they qualified for Big league.

Kajjansi United who finished top of the Katonga group unbeaten with 56 points from 22 games have now failed to qualify for Big league in their last two attempts.

Lugazi topped the Ssezibwa group with 51 points from 20 games with Gerald Ogweti emerged as the top scorer in the Buganda regional league with 23 goals.

Lugazi FC will now join Jinja North United, Kaaro Karungi, Soroti United, Northern Gateway and Adjumani Town Council FHL as the new entrants in the FUFA Big league season 2022/2023.

Kampala region champion is yet to be decided between Water FC and NEC FC.

*How both teams lined up
Lugazi FC XI
Nswemu Farouk (GK), Anguti Louis, Ssemwogerere Rashid, Kiiza Isaac, Kidawalime Ronald, Ssali Brian, Farouk Banga, Feni Moses Ali, Buga Moses, Gerald Ogweti

Kajjansi United XI
1. Steven Tabu (GK), 2. Henry Wamara, 3. Mike Kyeyune, 16. John Rubby Magweri, 6. Ashraf Mbaziira, 8. Badru Kabanda (c), 7. Joseph Shisa, 4. Marvin Nyanzi, 9. Swalleh Simbwa, 19. Mike Sserumaga, 11. John Wesley Kisakye



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *