CECAFA Women: Uganda 90 Minutes Away From Maiden Title

Saturday, June 11
•Uganda Vs Burundi – 3pm

Uganda will go all out in search for their first CECAFA Women Championship title when they meet Burundi in Saturday’s final at Njeru.

It has been a flawless tournament for hosts Uganda but had their wit tested in the semifinals where they needed an extra time Fazillah Ikwaput goal to get past Ethiopia in the semis.

The Crested Cranes will fancy their chances against Burundi, a side they beat 4-1 in their final group A game.

Fazilah Ikwaput and Shamirah Nalugya turned the game around after Nahimana Falonne had given Burundi an early lead.

And Sandra Nabweteme came off the bench to score a brace as Uganda handed Burundi their first loss of the tournament.

Uganda had beaten Djibouti and Rwanda earlier in Group A before conceding their first goal her first and only goal in the tournament against Burundi.

“Playing a team that you have ever played is not always an easy game since they might have learnt what you play but we are going to continue working as a team for a good result in the final,” said Crested Cranes coach George Lutalo.

“We played Burundi in the group stages of CECAFA Senior Women’s Championship and we won the game 4-1 but it’s not an easy team because any team reaching to the final game of any competition or tournament means the team is good.”

Uganda is also aware of Burundi’s threat after the side showed character to knockout Tanzania 2-1 in the semifinals.

It’s also strong to note that Burundi, just like Uganda, is the other CECAFA nation that will play at the 2022 Women Africa Cup of Nations finals in Morocco next month.

Tournament’s joint leading goal scorer Ikwaput (5 goals) has been outstanding for the Crested Cranes but Shamirah Nalugya and Hassifa Nassuna (MVP contender) have been in fine form as well.

Uganda has never won the competition but has finished second in 2018 in Rwanda and third in 2019 in Tanzania.

And Burundi who stand in their way will have to ask Sandrine Niyonkuru (5 goals) and captain Asha Djafari to be at their best in the final if they are to create an upset in Njeru.

Tanzania and Ethiopia meet at midday in the fight for bronze medal match.

Past Winners:

Year (Host) – Winner
•1986 (Zanzibar) – Zanzibar
•2016 (Uganda) – Tanzania
•2018 (Rwanda) – Tanzania
•2019 (Tanzania) – Kenya



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *