Cricket: Victoria Pearls Off To Rwanda For Kwibuka Tournament


The National Women Cricket team, the Victoria Pearls, have on Tuesday been flagged off to Kigali Rwanda to take part in the Kwibuka Invitational tournament.

The trip comes on the back of a successful Nepal tour where they beat the hosts 3-2 to rise frim 21st to 19th in the World rankings.

And team captain Consy Aweko says that they want to build from that Nepal success: “Our expectations is to build from what we have set on ground already, continue to build on the momentum and we are not going to under look any team below and we want to play each match like a final. We want to go and give our best out there.

“We have worked on all the three aspects of the game that is balling, fielding and batting so we believe we are going to showcase the best Cricket.”

The 2022 edition of the Kwibuka has attracted two new comers Germany from Europe and Brazil from the Americas region.

There are eight nations in the event that include hosts Rwanda, Uganda, Kenya, Botswana, Tanzania, Nigeria, Brazil and Germany. Kenya are the defending champions.

There are only two changes from the side that travelled to Nepal with Franklin Najjumba and Rita Nyagendo missing out, their replacements being Gloria Obukor and Naomi Kayondo.

Gloria Obukor was the best batter in the Womens T20 league and her inclusion is no surprise. Consy Aweko and Janet Mbabazi will be Captain and Vice-Captain for the team respectively.

Uganda Cricket CEO Martin Ondeko said that they take the Kwibuka tournament “very serious” especially because it has got T20i status.

Ondeko added: “We have a developing team and the more we expose it to high level cricket the better will become when the qualifiers come around. This is the time we have had three international tours for the ladies and this is a commitment from us to help the Victoria Pearls scale great heights.”
Uganda’s Fixture

The Full Team:
Consy Nimungu Aweko (Captain), 2. Janet Mbabazi (Vice-Captain), 3. Kevin Awino, 4. Rita Musamali, 5. Patricia Malemikia, 6. Phiona Egaru Kulume, 7. Sarah Akiteng, 8. Susan Kakai, 9. Naomi Kayondo, 10. Gloria Obukor, 11. Leona Mirembe Babirye, 12. Evelyn Anyipo, 13. Shakirah Sadick, 14. Sarah Walaza.

The Officials:
1.Laurence Ssematimba (Head Coach), 2. Laurence Ssempijja (Assistant Coach), 3. Imam Tugume (Team Physiotherapist), 4. Rita Tinka (Team Manager)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *