Big League: Five Confirm Promotion, Three Slots Still Up For Grabs

Five clubs have so far been promoted to the FUFA Big League next season.

Next season (2022/23) will see a total of 16 teams take part.

Eight teams are being promoted to next season’s Big League, with one slot available from each Region.

The confirmed teams so far are Kaaro Karungi (Western), Northern Gateways FC (Northern), Soroti City FC (North East), Adjumani Town Council (West Nile), Jinja North United (East).

Soroti FC

Soroti City FC, formerly Light SS, beat Basere 1-0 (AET) in a North East Playoff game at the Oligoi Stadium in Soroti.

Adjumani Town Council beat Nebbi Central FC 1-0 in the West Nile Region final at the Greenlight Stadium in Arua

Northern Gateway FC beat Young Elephants 5-4 in shootouts in the Northern Regional League final at Pece War Memorial Stadium.

Ibanda based Kaaro Karungi needed penalties to beat Kigezi Homeboyz 5-3 in shoot outs at Kyamate.

Jinja North

Jinja North edged Mbale Heroes 1-0 in the final at Iganga Ssaza Ground with Dickson Mutaama on target.

The three pending slots will be occupied by winners of Kampala, Buganda and Kitara Regions.

Booma (Masindi) and Rwenzori Lions (Kasese) meet in Kitara region finals on June 18 at the Omukama Ruhanga Owobusonozi playground in Muhooro Town Council.

The Buganda Region final will be between Lugazi FC and Kajjansi United due this Thursday June 16 at Kavumba Recreation Center.

Kampala Region is still undecided due to pending fixtures but Water, NEC and Impala are still in the mix.

Kaaro Karungi FC

Three teams – Mbarara City, Police and Tooro United will play in Big League next season after relegation from Uganda Premier League last season

Five teams were retained from the previous Big League season (2021/22) – Kataka, Kitara, Calvary, Luweero United and Ndejje University.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *