Ibrahim Juma Guides KCCA FC Past Bright Stars

Tuesday 3rd May
KCCA FC 1-0 Bright Stars – Lugogo
Onduparaka 0-2 Vipers – Arua

Ibrahim Juma scored the only goal as KCCA FC edged Bright Stars 1-0 in a Uganda Premier League match played at MTN Omondi stadium in Lugogo.

The youngster started a swift move and picked Mato Rogers on the right. He ran into the area to head in Mato’s cross past goalkeeper Emmanuel Derrick Were in the 16th minute.

The goal is the first for Juma who was making his first start for KCCA FC at Lugogo.

He was earlier denied by Were from Freekick as KCCA FC showed early intent.

Sadat Anaku had the first chance of goal when he raced on Davis Kasirye’s through ball but his effort was denied by the post.

Bright Stars were kept into the game by goalkeeper Derrick Were who made a couple of brilliant saves before halftime.

Bright Stars had a couple of chances on goal as well including Derrick Ngobi’s effort which was cleared off the line the KCCA defender John Revita.

Ayella Dominic, making his debut for KCCA, almost doubled the lead but his header went just inches wide.

Bright Stars captain Nelson Ssenkatuka had a chance to equalise but his powerful effort was pushed out by goalkeeper Derrick Ochan.

KCCA FC contained the game to win their first game against Bright Stars in the three games they have played so far this season, against a side that eliminated them from the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

KCCA FC now stretch their lead in the second position to four points away from URA FC who sit third with 49 points.

Bright stars remain 10th on the log with 30 points and are above the relegation zone with just five points.

What Next

KCCA FC will return to action on 7th as they host Busoga United as Bright stars will be away against URA FC.

How both teams lined up


  • Derrick Ochan (GK), Hassan Jurua, John Revita, Peter Magambo, Rodgers Mato, Ashraf Mugume, Dominic Ayella, Ibrahim Juma, Elvis Mwanje, Davis Kasirye, Sadat Anaku

Bright Stars XI

  • Derrick Were (GK), Derrick Ngobi, Warren Buule, Allan Katwe, Gift Odongo, Fiat Cleophas, Marvin Youngman, Joseph Janjali, Ibrahim Kasinde, Yasin Mugume, Nelson Ssenkatuka



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *