La Decima! Giants St. Mary’s Kitende Win 10th Copa Title

Friday, April 29
3rd place: Kibuli 3-0 Buddo SS
Final: St Mary’s Kitende 2-0 Gombe SS

St Mary’s Kitende beat St Andrews Kaggwa Gombe SS to clinch this year’s National Post Primary Championship at Barifa Stadium in Arua.

Goals from Elvis Ngonde and Charles Lwanga helped the Wakiso-based school defend the title they won in 2019 in Jinja.

It’s the 10th title for Kitende, who had won it previously in 2019, 2015, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2008, 2007, 2006 and 2004.

They move just one title shy of record winners Kibuli who won a couple earlier before the tournament was called UTV Cup in the 90s.

It’s double joy for Kitende whose associate club, Vipers SC, have also won the Uganda Premier League with four games to spare after the 3-0 victory over Express.

Ngonde was at the end of Fazil Tumwine’s cross which he buried with s sweeping finish to give Kitende a 11th minute lead.

Kitende quickly doubled their lead three minutes later with Enock Luyima’s effort finding Lwanga who looped over the goalkeeper.

And Kitende, who earlier knocked out Kibuli after that controversial penalty at Semis, held on as Gombe huffed and puffed in vain.

St Andrews Kaggwa Gombe, making their debut at the tournament, will walk with heads high after some good performances highlighted by eliminating traditional sides Jinja SS and Buddo SS.

Individual Accolades:

Fair Play – Standard High School Zzana
Top sorer – Oscar Mawa (Gombe SS) – 11 goals
Best goalkeeper – Safi Apangu Noah (Gombe)
MVP – Travis Mutyaba (Gombe SS)

Past Winners

2022: St Mary’s Kitende (Arua)
2021: COVID-19
2020: COVID-19
2019: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Jinja, Jinja College)
2018: Buddo S.S (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High)
2017: Jinja S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS)
2016: Kibuli SS (Host: Soroti, Teso College Aloet)
2015: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Hoima, Duhaga S.S)
2014: Kibuli SS (Host: Gulu, St Joseph College, Layibi)
2013: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Kabale, Kigezi College)
2012: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Tororo, Rock High School)
2011: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Arua, Mvara S.S)
2010: Bishop Nankyama (Masaka, St Henry’s Kitovu)
2009: Buddo S.S (Fort Portal, St Leo’s Kyegobe)
2008: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Arua, Mvara SS) *Started as Copa Coca Cola Cup
2007: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
2006: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Masindi, Kabalega SS) *Coca Cola Cup
2005: Kibuli S.S (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Coca Cola
2004: St Mary’s SS Kitende (Host: Mbarara – Ntare School) *Coca Cola Cup
2003: Old Kampala (Host: Lira, Lango College) *Coca Cola Cup
2002: Nagalama Islamic (Host: Soroti, Teso College, Aloet) * Coca Cola Cup
2001: Ngabo Academy (Host: Kabale, Kabale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
2000: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1999: Old Kampala (Host: Masindi, Kabalega S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1998: Kibuli (Host: Jinja, Jinja S.S) *Coca Cola Cup
1997: St Leo’s Kyegobe (Host: Mbarara, Mbarara High) *Coca Cola Cup
1996: Kibuli (Host: Masaka, Masaka SS) *Started as Coca Cola Cup
1995: Kibuli (Host: Mbale, Mbale SS) *NPP Cup
1994: Lubiri S.S (Host: Lira, Lango College) *NPP Cup
1993: Kibuli S.S (Host: Mbarara, Ntare School) *NPP Cup
1992: Kibuli SS (Host: Kampala, Kibuli SS) * UTV Cup
1991: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1990: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1989: Kibuli S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1988: Kololo (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1987: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup
1986: Kololo S.S (Host: Kampala) *UTV Cup



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *