Rugby Africa Sevens: Uganda Win Third Title

Sunday, April 24
β€’Uganda 26-00 Zimbabwe

Uganda have beaten Zimbabwe 26-00 in a thrilling final at Kyadondo to win the Nile Special sponsored 2022 Rugby Africa Sevens.

Timothy Kisiga scored a brace, Ian Munyani and Michael Wokorach added one each while Phillip Wokorach added other points with his boot.

It was a deserved win for Tolbert Onyango’s side who beat Kenya in the semifinal.

Uganda finishes the tournament with more double joy after qualification to the 2022 World Cup and Commonwealth Games.

“I am very proud of this team, it has been an amazing two days,” briefly said Captain Wokorach.

“We still have to work hard for upcoming tournaments, this team is here to make history. To the fans who came out, this victory is your fans.”

It’s the third title for Uganda who also triumphed back-to-back in 2016 and 2017.

Past Winners
2000 – Zimbabwe
2004 – Kenya
2008 – Kenya
2012 – Zimbabwe
2013 – Kenya
2014 – South Africa
2015 – Kenya
2016 – Uganda
2017 – Uganda
2018 – Zimbabwe
2019 – Kenya
2020 – N/A (Covid19)
2021 – N/A (Covid19)
2022 – Uganda



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.