Video: Uganda’s Final 12 For Rugby Africa 7s Named

Uganda coach Tolbert Onyango has named his final squad for the forthcoming 2022 Rugby Africa Men’s Sevens Cup due April 23-24 in Kampala.

The Sevens tourney at Kyadondo is proudly sponsored by Nile Special.

The squad that has been trimmed from 14 to 12, has seen two players – Alex Aturinda and William Nkore – dropped.

The team will be captained by Heathens’ Michael Wokorach for the tourney that will be played at Kyadondo.

The tournament returns in Uganda for the first time since 2017 when the Uganda’s Rugby 7s team beat Zimbabwe 10-7 in the final to defend their crown on home soil.

Uganda coach Tolbert Onyango

Defending champions Kenya, Burundi, Burkina Faso, Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Madagascar, Mauritius, Namibia, Senegal, Tunisia, Zambia and Zimbabwe will be coming to Kampala.

The tournament will act as Qualifiers for 2022 World Cup Rugby 7s where top three teams will book slots to South African event.

The top two teams, outside Kenya, will qualify for the Commonwealth games in Birmingham.

FINAL 12: Ian Munyani, Adrian Kasito, Balagadde Kelvin, Philip Wokorach, Kisiga Timothy, Michael Wokorach, Desire Ayera, Aaron Ofoyrowth, Massanganzira Isaac, Okeny Nobert, Claude Otema, Karim Arinaitwe

Round One Fixtures:
•Kenya vs Senegal
•Uganda vs Burundi
•Zimbabwe vs Burkina Faso
•Madagascar vs Botswana
•Namibia vs Ghana
•Zambia vs Cameroon
•Tunisia vs Mauritius
*Teams will then proceed to next rounds per round one results.

Past Winners
2000 – Zimbabwe
2004 – Kenya
2008 – Kenya
2012 – Zimbabwe
2013 – Kenya
2014 – South Africa
2015 – Kenya
2016 – Uganda
2017 – Uganda
2018 – Zimbabwe
2019 – Kenya
2020 – N/A (Covid19)
2021 – N/A (Covid19)
2022 – ??



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *