Rugby Cranes Squad For Africa 7s Named

Uganda’s Rugby Cranes technical team has named the 14-man squad for the forthcoming 2022 Rugby Africa Men’s Sevens Cup due April 23-24 in Kampala.

The team will be captained by Heathens’ Michael Wokorach for the tourney that will be played at Kyadondo.

The tournament returns in Uganda for the first time since 2017 when the Uganda’s Rugby 7s team beat Zimbabwe 10-7 in the final to defend their crown on home soil.

Zimbabwe then won it in Monastir (Tunisia) before Kenya clinched the title when they thrashed Uganda 29-0 in Johannesburg (South Africa) in 2019, but the two subsequent editions in 2020 and 2021 were not played due to Covid19.

Defending champions Kenya, Burundi, Burkina Faso, Botswana, Cameroon, Ghana, Madagascar, Mauritius, Namibia, Senegal, Tunisia, Zambia and Zimbabwe will be coming to Kampala.

Adrian Kasito. Uganda Rugby Union

The tournament will act as Qualifiers for 2022 World Cup Rugby 7s where top three teams will book slots to South African event.

The top two teams, outside Kenya, will qualify for the Commonwealth games in Birmingham.

Rugby Cranes Squad:

Michael Wokorach (C)
Philip Wokorach
Kasito Adrian
Ofoyrwoth Aaron
Otema Claude
Balaggade Kelvin
Kisiga Timothy
Nkore William
Desire Ayera
Ian Munyani
Alex Aturinda
Okeny Nobert
Karim Arinaitwe
Massa Isaac

Round One Fixtures:
•Kenya vs Senegal
•Uganda vs Burundi
•Zimbabwe vs Burkina Faso
•Madagascar vs Botswana
•Namibia vs Ghana
•Zambia vs Cameroon
•Tunisia vs Mauritius
*Teams will then proceed to next rounds per round one results.

Past Winners
2000 – Zimbabwe
2004 – Kenya
2008 – Kenya
2012 – Zimbabwe
2013 – Kenya
2014 – South Africa
2015 – Kenya
2016 – Uganda
2017 – Uganda
2018 – Zimbabwe
2019 – Kenya
2020 – N/A (Covid19)
2021 – N/A (Covid19)
2022 – ??



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *