CAF Champions League Draw: Eight Teams Await Quarterfinal Opponents

Eight clubs will on Tuesday learn their quarterfinal opponents in the 2021/22 CAF Champions League.

The draw will be conducted in Cairo at 13:00 GMT (4pm Uganda time).

Eight clubs qualified confirmed their slots in the quartefinals after the conclusion of the group stages.

Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa), Raja Club Athletic (Morocco), Esperance du Tunis (Tunisia), Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco), ES Setif (Algeria), CR Belouizdad (Algeria), Petro de Luanda (Angola) and Al Ahly (Egypt).

Al Ahly are the defending champions having defeated Kaizer Chiefs on finals.

Three teams finished the group phase without victory; Zamalek, Sagrada Esperanca and Jwaneng Galaxy.

The quarters will be played on April 15/16 to 22/23 for the first and second legs respectively.

The final will be played on 29 May 2022 at a venue to be announced.

The semifinals draw will also be conducted on the day as well.

The draw will be live on Caf media platforms.

How teams finished in Groups:

Qualified Teams:

Group winners: Mamelodi Sundowns, Raja Club Athletic, Esperance du Tunis, Wydad Athletic Club.

Second placed teams: Al Ahly, ES Setif, CR Belouizdad, Petro de Luanda.

CAF Champions League Winners Since 2010

2010 – TP Mazempe (DR Congo)
2011 – ES Tunis (Tunisia)
2012 – Al Ahly (Egypt)
2013 – Al Ahly (Egypt)
2014 – ES Setif (Algeria)
2015 – TP Mazembe (DR Congo)
2016 – Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)
2017 – Wydad Casablanca (Morocco)
2018 – ES Tunis (Tunisia)
2018/19 – ES Tunis (Tunisia)*
2019/20 – Zamalek (Egypt)
2020/21 – Al Ahly (Egypt)
2021/22 – ???
*ES Tunis were declared Champions after second leg with Wydad was abandoned



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *