Women Elite League: 12 teams to take Part, New Kick off Dates Revealed

The Federation of Uganda Football Association through its Competitions department have approved twelve teams for the upcoming 2021/2022 FUFA Women Elite League.

It has been confirmed that the said teams met all the club licencing requirements and are now set to take part in the new season.

The teams have been put into two groups that is Elizabeth and Victoria with each comprising of six teams.

While speaking about the new developments on Monday, Sarah Birungi the FUFA Competitions Officer in charge of Development Competitions said that all the 12 teams fully fulfilled the necessary requirements to take part in the upcoming Season.

‘We are done with the licensing process and grouping the teams into two basing on their location. We considered location to ease on the burden of transport for the teams,” Birungi is quoted by FUFA.

Furthermore, the Competitions Officer also revealed that the new season is expected to kickoff on 13 March, 2022.

Earlier this month on February 15th, the Federation had postponed the kick off of the 2021/22 Women Elite League season due to non-compliance from some of the clubs per licensing requirements.

It was said that nine clubs had fully registered for the new season with Seven of the 17 clubs failing to meet the necessary club licencing requirements. The seven clubs included Isra Soccer Academy, Dynamic SS Jjeza, Ajax Queens, St. Peters Apol WFC, Amuria H/S, Town View SS and Lango Queens.

However with the new developments, Isra Soccer Academy, Dynamic SS Jjeza and Ajax Queens have also met the necessary club licencing requirements and will take part in the new season ahead.

Town View, Amuria High, St Peter’s and Lango Queens have failed to meet the requirements and so will not take part in this year’s FUFA Women Elite League.

Confirmed Groups

*Elizabeth Group – Acholi Queens, King of Kings WFC, Ehcos SS WFC, Bunyaruguru Girls FC, Dynamic Jjeza WFC, Asubo Gafford Ladies

*Victoria Group – Kataka She FC, Isra Soccer Academy, Wakiso Hills WFC, Luweero Giant Queen, Makerere University WFC, Ajax Queens FC



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *