Could Vipers have conceded a penalty? Couldn’t this be a red card for left back Dissan Galiwango?
The-SportsNation assess whether Centre Referee Ali Sabira and second assistant referee Samuel Mbabali were right not to punish Vipers SC.
Incident: On February 12 2022 during a matchday 17 StarTimes Uganda Premier League match between Vipers SC and Arua Hill at St Mary’s Stadium Kitende, Arua Hill were denied a penalty in a dramatic and controversial incident in the 23rd minute of the game!
After David Ndihabwe had sent his effort onto the woodwork, Vipers struggled to clear away from danger and Arua Hill midfielder Gaddafi Wahab’s goal bound shot was blocked Dissan Galiwango with his hand!
Second Assistant referee Mbabali who seemingly had a good view of the incident, put his flag up to signal for offside, much to the dislike of Arua Hill coach Livingston Mbabazi who was animated on the touchline.
Without doubt, Galiwango handled the ball!
What the IFAB rules say?
*Denying a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity:
Where a player denies the opposing team a goal or an obvious goal-scoring opportunity by a handball offence, the player is sent off wherever the offence occurs.
Where a player commits an offence against an opponent within their own penalty area which denies an opponent an obvious goal-scoring opportunity and the referee awards a penalty kick, the offender is cautioned if the offence was an attempt to play the ball; in all other circumstances (e.g. holding, pulling, pushing, no possibility to play the ball etc.) the offending player must be sent off.
In this incident, Referee Ali Sabila had to award Arua Hill a penalty and also give Galiwango a red card.
Contrary: But what is it an offside?
“An attacker in an offside position is obstructing the goalkeeper’s line of vision. He must be penalised because he prevents an opponent from playing or being able to play the ball.”
Assistant Referee Mbabali signalled that Arua Hill lanky forward Robert Eseru was offside.
Right, Eseru was nearer to Vipers goal line (in offside position), but he never interfered with an opponent or play and neither did Eseru obstruct goalkeeper Fabian Mutombora’s line of vision.