James Odoch Replaces Sacked Wasswa Bbosa At Express FC

Express FC have shockingly confirmed parting ways with coach Wasswa Bbosa, his assistant James Odoch will take over on interim until the end of the season.

The news of Bbosa’s sacking was communicated on Monday midday during the meeting held at Wankulukuku conducted by club CEO Isaac Mwesigwa.

Bbosa when told the news of his sacking, stormed out of the meeting saying “pay me my money” and the CEO responded that “come for it tomorrow.”

This comes despite Express FC’s 15-game unbeaten run in the league.

However, Express who lost their two opening games against Arua Hill and UPDF FC, sit 10 points below leaders Vipers SC.

Last season, Bbosa who joined the club in May 2020, won Express FC their first league title since 2011/12 and also went on to guide the Red Eagles to their maiden CECAFA Kagame Cup triumph.

Bbosa’s Legacy At Express Etched in Bold

Bbosa returned to Express in February 2020 to replace George Ssimwogerere before he was confirmed as the permanent coach later in May that year.

Then, he found the club fighting relegation, seated in 13th place with just 21 points.

The tactician who has worked at Tooro United and SC Villa brought in a couple of players who he has worked with including Mahad Yaya Kakooza, Godfrey Lwesibawa, Issa Lumu, Arthur Kiggundu among others and the rest like they say, is history.

The Red Eagles seamlessly turned from a relegation survivor to title Contender and they went on to win the league in Bbosa’s first full season in charge.

History will have Bbosa as the first Express coach to win a CECAFA Kagame Title.

Many will front his sacking to his fall out with Club CEO Isaac Mwesigwa, while a section of fans believe that Bbosa has been a master of his downfall.

Express FC Coaches since inception:

Jolly ‘Joe’ Kiwanuka (1957–73)

Robert Kiberu (1974–77)

Ashe Mukasa (1979)

John Dibya (1980)

Emmanuel Nsubuga (1980–82)

Henry Buyego (1983)

George Mukasa (1984–85)

Charles Masembe (1985–86)

Dan Lutalo (1986)

George Mukasa (1986)

Robert Kiberu (1987–90)

Billy Kizito (1990)

David Otti (1990–95)

Jimmy Muguwa (1995–96)

Dragan Popadić (1996–97)

Jimmy Muguwa (1997–98)

Abo Korouma (1998–99)

Godfrey Nyola (1999)

Rashid Shedu (1999–00)

Godfrey Nyola (2000)

Eddie May (2000–01)

Asumani Lubowa (2001)

Godfrey Nyola (2001)

Jimmy Muguwa (2002)

Abdul Kadir (2002)

Leo Adraa (2002–03)

Jan Fray (2003)

James S’ianga (2004)

Leo Adraa (2004–05)

Godfrey Nyola (2005)

Polly Ouma (2005)

George Ssimwogerere (2006)

Kefa Kisala (2006)

George Ssimwogerere (2006)

Kefa Kisala (2006–07)

Ibrahim Buwembo (2007)

Kennedy Lubogo (2007)

Sam Ssimbwa (2007)

Polly Ouma (2007)

Jimmy Muguwa (2007–08)

David Otti (2008–11)

Sam Ssimbwa (2010–12)

Moses Basena (2012–13)

Frank Anyau (2013)

Sam Ssimbwa (2013)

Richard Wassawa Bbosa (2014)

Mathias Lule (2015 – 2016)

Douglas Bamweyana (2017)

Shafiq Bisaso (2017)

Kefa Kisala (2018)

George Ssimwogerere (2019)

Richard Wasswa Bbosa (2020 – 2022)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *