Brian Nkuubi Late Strike Guides URA Past Gaddafi

Saturday February, 12th
URA FC 2-1 Gaddafi FC

Brian Nkuubi scored in added time as URA FC picked a hard fought 2-1 win over Gaddafi in a league game held at Arena of Visions in Bombo on Saturday.

Off the bench, Nkuubi struck in the 93rd minute to see that the Tax Collectors walked away with maximum points at home.

Gaddafi’s Bate Seif had cancelled out substitute Ibrahim Dada’s strike earlier on in the second half.

Playing at home, the Tax Collectors failed to put a better performance at half time as they were denied by a spirited Gaddafi FC side.

They had a limited chances but failed on two occasions to score before half time as Shafik Kagimu saw his effort cleared for a corner before he sent his effort onto the cross bar.

At the restart of the second stanza, the introduction of Dada Ibrahim brought in more life in URA’s attacking force and it paid off with a goal.

In the 52nd minute, Dada, who came in for Moses Sseruyidde headed in home off a well delivered cross from Vianne Ssekajugo to put his side ahead.

However, despite going a goal down, Gaddafi remained composed as they launched various attacks in search for the equaliser.

And in the 66th minute, Bate who was making his debut at the club levelled matters with a beautiful volley.

There on, URA will have goalkeeper Nafian Alionzi to thank as he pulled out two brilliant saves to deny the Visitors.

With the game headed for a statement, off the bench, Nkuubi struck the winner at the death to ensure that his side bagged all the three points on the day.

Victory ensured that URA moved to the third place with now 31 points after 17 games played.

For Gaddafi, they suffer their 6th loss of the season and they remain in the 8th position with 21 points.

What Next- URA will be away to Wakiso Giants next week on Tuesday 15th while Gaddafi host Mbarara City on Sunday 20th this month.

Team Lineups

URA FC- Nafian Alionzi GK, Mbowa Patrick, Najib Fesali Hudu Mulikyi, Ashraf Mandela, Serubiri Ivan, Saidi Kyeyune, Shafik Kagimu, Vianne Ssekajugo, Moses Sseruyidde, Steven Mukwala.

Gaddafi FC – Ronald Mutebi GK, Franco Onen, Paul Musamali, Andrew Waiswa, Isaac Isinde, Yunus Sabira, Kirya Amos, Charles Ssebutinde, Seif Bate, Kyeyune, James Otim



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.