Mbarara Rally: Ponsiano Lwakataka Victorious In season Opener

The Mafu Mafu racing team of Ponsiano Lwakataka and Paul Musazi were crowned Champions of the Rukaari Lake Mburo rally which opened up the National Rally Championship (NRC) season.

Lwakataka in his Subaru N12b held onto a tight battle from the shell racing team duo of Arthur Blick and Ronald Ssebuguzi who won the first two stages in day one as well as reigning national champion Duncan Mubiru joining in to win the third stage.

Arthur Blick with his son Alistair Blick in the co-drivers seat where victorious at the 15km sanga stage and holding in to take the lead in day one. Ronald Ssebuguzi and Samuel Bwete won the 3.4 km spectator stage to Finnish second on day one.

Posiano Lwakataka tasted victory on day two as he was victorious in the early four stages as the race leader Arthur Blick dropped out due to mechanical problems.

In stage five, Duncan Mubiru also dropped out after rolling his Subaru GVB which gave Lwakataka the race lead as he beat up competition from Fred Busulwa by eight minutes earlier to the pit stop.

The two time National champion Posiano Lwakataka has now turned his eyes on the NRC tittle after clinching the season opener.

“I am back to compete for the national rally tittle,” said Lwakataka after the win.

The next race on the National calendar will be organised by the Eastern Motor Club inarch 2022.

Results of the Mbarara Rally
1.Ponsiano Lwakataka /Paul Musazi -1:32:33
2.Fred Busulwa /Joseph Bongole – 1:40:11
3.Aine Sodo /Derick Lubambula – 1:43:48
4.Edward Kirumira /Robert Katabalwa – 1:51:20
5.Mark Lubega /Mbabazi Daniel 1:56:40
6.Umar Dauda/Hamza Lwanga – 2:00:27
7.Samuel Bwette /Urban Mulindwa – 2:02:56
8.Ibrahim Lubega /Geofrey Serwoga – 2:14:07
9.Samuel Watendwa /Steven Bunya – 2:16:47
10.Happy Richard /Mwambazi Lawrence – 3:06:02



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *