Stanbic Uganda Cup: Draw and Kickoff Dates Set, All 64 Teams Revealed

All is set for the Stanbic Uganda Cup Round of 64.

The draws for the 48th edition of one of the most prestigious competition in Uganda football is set to be held on Monday 10th, January 2022.

The round of 64 will consist of the current 16 Uganda Premier League clubs, 11 Fufa Big league teams and 37 already qualified clubs from the 8 FUFA footballing regions.

The 32 Round of 64 matches will be played between 18th and 30th January.

The last two competitions have been halted by Covid19 pandemic; the 2020 tournament was declared null and void.

Last year’s tournament was forced to start at the round of 32 with only UPL and Big League teams, and after start-stop midway through the tournament, the competition later resumed with Semis at Njeru.

Vipers SC emerged as champions in September after a 8-1 win over depleted BUL FC who earlier shocked Express in the semis.

Record Numbers in Stanbic Uganda Cup Regional Preliminaries

A record 249 teams played in the Regional Preliminaries of the 2021/22 Stanbic Uganda Cup following the re-opening of the competition to include non-Uganda Premier League and non-Big League teams.

In the 2019/20 edition of the Stanbic Uganda Cup, a then record 159 teams participated in the Regional Preliminaries however the following 2020/21 season, only the 32 teams in the Uganda Premier League and Uganda Big League played in the Stanbic Uganda Cup.

This season however due to the easing of government restrictions, the competition was re-opened up to teams from the 3rd to 5th Division and to non-league teams as well and a record 249 teams registered from across the 8 regions.

Kampala Region had the highest number with 46 teams competing followed by West Nile Region that had 36 teams. Buganda Region had 34 teams while Northern, Eastern and Kitara had 32, 30 and 28 teams competing within their regions. North East had 26 teams while Western had only 17 teams.

The Stanbic Uganda Cup Regional Preliminaries were played in the month of December 2021 with 36 teams qualifying for the Competition Proper (Round of 64).

The 64 Teams Set to Take Part in 2021/22 Stabic Uganda Cup:

UPL (16) – KCCA, Vipers, Express, SC Villa, URA FC, BUL FC, Onduparaka, Arua Hill, Wakiso Giants, UPDF, Busoga United, Gaddafi, Police, Mbarara City, Bright Stars, Tooro United

Big League (11) – Proline, Kyetume, Maroons, MYDA, Nyamityobora, Kitara, Ndejje University, Blacks Power, Kataka, Calvary, Luwero United

Kampala Region (6) – PCCP, Kisugu United, NEC FC, Impala Hill, Kireka Young, Nsambya SC

Buganda Region (6) – Free Stars, Kajjansi United FC, Kiyinda Boys FC, Lugazi Municipal FC, Seeta United FC and Five Stars FC

Eastern Region (5) – Mbale Heroes, Admin FC, Busia United FC, Iganga Young, Jinja North.

West Nile Region (5) – Total FC, Paidha United, Paidha Black Angels, Adjumani TC, Tipsah FC

Kitara Region (4) – Bujumbura United, Rusekere Growers, Booma FC, Bundimasoli United

North Eastern Region (4) – Soroti FC, Ateker FC, Basekere FC, Tepa FC

Northern Region (4) – Tawai FC, Heroes FC, Super Eagles FC, Kalongo United

Western Region (3) – Six O’clock, Kigezi HomeBoyz FC, Kigezi FC



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *