10-man Busoga United Beat Onduparaka to Return to Winning Ways

Wednesday Jan 5th
Busoga United 2-0 Onduparaka
KCCA 1-0 Mbarara City

Busoga United returned to winning ways following their 2-0 win over Onduparaka in a league game held on Wednesday at Njeru.

A goal either half from Shaka Ssozi and youngster Opaala Edrine Mukisa ensured that the Jinja based side started this new year on a bright note.

Busoga United finished a man less after Sande Mulanda was sent off in the closing stages of the game.

Having gone eight games without picking any point, Busoga United picked up themselves and did just enough to collect maximum points against the West Nile based side.

Forward Ssozi put them ahead in the 19th minute, heading in home off a well delivered corner from Edrine Opaala and his goal was the difference at half time.

However, the Visitors also had chances to score before the interval but missed a couple.

Dudu Ramathan saw his header cleared off the lines, Shaban Muhamad missed with just a tap in after Ivan Okello had sent him through on goal before Yakini Rashid shot wide when in-front of goal.

The second half saw limited chances, but Busoga did just enough to extend their lead through youngster Opaala who scored in the 80th minute to seal his side’s victory.

However, with nine minutes to play, Busoga’s Sande Mulanda was shown red but that did not stop them from picking all the three points on the day.

Victory ensured that Busoga picked their third win of the season but still remain second from the bottom with now 10 points after 13 games so far.

For Onduparaka, they suffer their fifth loss in the season and are now sitted in the 13th position with 10 points collected from 13 games as well.

What Next – In their last games of the first round, Onduparaka will host Tooro United on Saturday 8th January while Busoga United will be away to Mbarara City the following day

How they Lined Up

Busoga United
Delton Oyo (G.K), Kintu Hassan, Kalyowa George, Fredrick Ngalo, Basoga Derrick, Sande Mulanda, Paul Ssekulima, Anthony Mayanja (Captain), Mustafa Anwaru Ntege, Edrine Opaala Mukisa, Shaka Ssozi

Mathias Muwanga Gk, Okello Isaac, Dudu Ramathan, Amayo Ahmed, Adriko Alex, Ivan Okello, Oketch Emmanuel, Yakin Rashid, Shaban Muhamad, Matata Gabriel, Baden Mujahid



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.