Baby Cricket Cranes In West Indies For 2022 U19 World Cup

Uganda is one of the 16 nations that will take part in the 2022 International Cricket Council (ICC) U-19 World Cup in West Indies.

The 14th edition of the U-19 World Cup runs from January 3rd to February 4th and Uganda, who will be making a third appearance after back-to-back editions in 2004 (Bangladesh) and 2006 (Sri Lanka) are pooled in Group B alongside powerhouse India, Ireland and African giants South Africa.

Uganda qualified for this years edition after winning the ICC U-19 World Cup Africa Region Qualifiers in October last year in Rwanda after outclassing log-leaders Tanzania on the last day by 8 wickets.

Uganda had rallied to stay alive in the tournament with wins over Rwanda and Nigeria after falling to pre-event favourites Namibia on the first day of the continental meet.

The full Ugandan contingent comprises of 15 players and nine officials.

Unfortunately, two players that were part of the successful qualification campaign in the Rwandan capital Kigali; vice-captain Ismail Munir and pace bowler Akram Nsubuga failed repetitive Covid-19 PCR Tests conducted in Uganda and thus missed out on the final selection.

Whereas the two will be missed, the dynamic pair of exciting all-rounder Yunus Sowobi and top order batsman Fahad Mutagana were drafted in as replacements and will now live the World Cup dream.

Uganda will play two warm up games against Scotland on January 10th and Sri Lanka on January 12th before taking on Ireland on January 15th for their opening World Cup game.

Uganda U-19 Fixtures: Warm-Up Games:
Ianuary 10th, 2022: Uganda vs. Scotland, Everest Ground – Guyana
January 12th, 2022: Uganda vs. Sri Lanka, Guyana National Stadium

World Cup Preliminary Round

*January 15th, 2022: Uganda vs. Ireland, Everest Ground – Guyana

*January 17th, 2022: Uganda vs. South Africa, Queens Park Oval – Trinidad Tobago

*January 22th, 2022: Uganda vs. India, Brian Lara Cricket Ground – Trinidad Tobago


1.Pascal Murungi (Captain), 2. Isaac Ategeka (Vice-Captain), 3. Yunus Sowobi, 4. Christopher Kidega, 5. Pius Oloka, 6. Joseph Baguma, 7. Matthew Musinguzi, 8. Ronald Omara, 9. Cyrus Kakuru, 10. Brian Asaba, 11. Fahad Mutagana, 12. Ronald Opio, 13. Ronald Lutaaya, 14. Edwin Nuwagaba, 15. Juma Miyagi.


  1. Ivan Thawithemwira (Head Coach), 2. Robinson Turinawe (Assistant Coach), 3. Habiba Kulusum (Physiotherapist), 4. Rokani Sylvester (Team Manager), 5. Richard Okia (Selector), 6. Alvin Bagaya (Analyst), 7. Paul Kaheru (Board Representative), 8. Paul Nsibuuka Luswata (Government Representative) 9. Sam Walusimbi (Head of Delegation)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *