Masaza Cup: Butambala Beat Buwekula To Join Qualification Contest

Muganzirwaza Group

Monday, December 6
*Busujju 1-1 Mawogola
*Buwekula 0-1 Butambala

Wednesday, December 8
*Mawogola Vs Buddu – 12pm
*Butambala Vs Busujju – 3pm

Group Standings

  1. Buwekula – 7
  2. Buddu – 7
  3. Butambala – 4
  4. Mawogola – 2
  5. Busujju – 1

Butambala registered a 1-0 victory against Buwekula to give themselves a fighting stance in the qualification contest to the quarterfinals.

Buwekula who played their last game, have their Qualification chances hanging in balance and will pray that results do not go Buddu and Butambala’s ways on Wednesday.

Faizo Wabyoona scored the only goal for Butambala from the spot as they picked their first win in this year’s tournament.

Coming to this encounter, Buwekula were top of the group standings with 7 points, with a better goal difference over Buddu on seven points as well and needed just a point to storm the quarters.

However, they failed to utilise the few available chances against a resilient Butambala side that proved to be a hard nut to crack.

The first half saw a limited chances from both teams and nothing could separate the two teams before the interval.

In the second stanza, both teams started opening up but it was Butambala who got the needed goal in the 76th minute, through Wabyoona who scored from a penalty to see his side bag all the three points.

For Butambala, following their win on Monday, mathematically still have a chance to get past the group Stages if they beat Busujju in their last game.

Meanwhile, In Monday’s early kick off at noon, Busujju who were yet to pick a point held Mawogola to a 1-all draw to end their qualification chances.

Umar Luswabi had put Mawogola ahead in the 8th minute before Akram Kasagga levelled matters for Busujju to pick their first point.

As it stands, Mawogola and Busujju are out of the race as they can not go past the group Stages and will have to wait until the next edition.

Team Lineups

Buwekula – Patrick Mubiru GK, Raymond Marvin Witaikire, Anthony Kizito Kirumira, Lucky Johnson Kassajja, Isaac Musiima, Shafic Kakande, Benard Alijuna, Ismail Tamubula, Abdul Nsereko, Alex Kizito, Stuart Otunnu
*Head coach: Frank Mulindwa

Butambala – Fahad Emran GK, Musa Jagwe, Colline Onega, Joseph Ogwang, Shafik Ssali, Julius Bukenya, Faizo Wabyoona, Brancher Mulamba, Raymond Lusajje, Francis Mukasa, Edrine Owachgiu
*Head Coach: Emuran Recoba



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *