Defending Champions Gomba Eliminated, Ssingo Through

Monday, November 29
*Ssingo 2-0 Gomba
*Kyadondo Vs Buluuli

Ssingo became the first team in the Masengere group to storm the quarter finals of this year’s Masaza Cup tournament after their 2-0 victory against defending Champions Gomba on Monday afternoon.

A first half strike from Charles Ssembalirwa and a late goal from Mike Kayongo ensured that the two-time holders earned a place to the next stage.

The game saw Ssingo finish with ten men after goal scorer Ssembalirwa was shown matching orders with only five minutes to play.

Coming into this contest, both teams had a chance to go to the next stage with Ssingo on 3 points while Gomba had 4 after their opening three group games.

However, Ssingo did just enough to get the job done against a Gomba side that has had mixed results in this year’s tournament.

Despite a closely contested affair in the opening exchanges, Ssingo broke the deadlock through Ssembalirwa with six minutes before the interval.

In the second stanza, Gomba came back a rejuvenated side but failed to break a well composed Ssingo defence.

Later on the 85th minute, Ssingo were reduced to ten men after goal scorer Ssembalirwa was shown red but they remained composed to get the job done.

In added time, Kayongo put the icing on cake to double his side’s lead and his goal was all but enough to see the two time Champions book a spot in the next stage.

Ssingo who picked their first win on Monday against Gomba finish with six points in the Masengere group and seal a place to the next stage. (W1, D3).

For Gomba, their dream to retain the title ends as they finish second from rock bottom on four points.

How they started
Ssingo Ssaza
Lawrence Lubanga GK, Livingstone Mbigo, Jackson Ssembatya, Lauben Lubwama, Ibrahim Ssenkungu, Micheal Kayongo, Charles Batibwe, Cyrus Mukalazi, Joseph Ssewali, Moses Mukisa, Fahad Nsuuki

Joseph Kanaabi, Charles Ssembalirwa, Eddy Bulwaanyi, Hamuza Kyomuhendo

Head coach: Joshua Tamale

Gomba Ssaza
Kaweesi Eric GK, Mukembo Sadat, Kafeero Hamis Dagada, Frank Katongole, Lamech Mwebaza, George William Masembe, Sharif Muwaya, Juma Junior Lutakome, Herbert Onenarach, Brian Aniku, Daniel Nyanzi

Navas Mubiru, Julius Omizu, Yaken Muwonge, William Katumba, Nicholas Morgan Tumwesigye

Head coach: Ibrahim Kirya



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.