Najjemba, Lady Doves Duo Make Final Shortlist for 2021 Best Female Player

Federation of Uganda Football Association has confirmed the final three nominees for the 2021 Airtel FUFA Player of the year.

Uganda U20 Women captain Fauziah Najjemba and Lady Doves duo of goalkeeper Daisy Nakaziro and striker Fazila Ikwaput have made the final shortlist.

The list has been truncated from five that was initially confirmed during the launch at Stonehaven Malcolm X Hotel on October 21.

The two missing out are Joan Naggayi (She Maroons) and Margret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim Ladies).

Kampala Queens striker Najjemba has had an outstanding year with the country.

She helped Uganda oust Kenya with a 10-3 aggregate in the FIFA U20 Women’s World Cup Qualifiers to book a tie with South Africa due next month.

The striker was also on target as Crested Cranes (Uganda Women senior team) beat Ethiopia 2-0 in the first leg (of the second round) of the Africa Women Cup of Nations Qualifiers.
Uganda went on to eliminate Ethiopia 2-1 on penalties with Najjemba scoring one of the penalties.

The forward was also the Top scorer at CECAFA Women’s U20 Championship, bagging 11 goals in 5 games.

Nakaziro on the other hand, captained Lady Doves to the 2020/21 FUFA Women Super League title in a season she was named the best Goalkeeper

And Lady Doves went on to finish third at the inaugural CECAFA CAF Women’s Champions League Qualifiers where she was also named the best Goalkeeper.

Ikwaput was the Top scorer and named MVP as Lady Doves won the FUFA Women Super League.

She came off the bench to score the winning goal in the final against UCU Lady Cardinals to help Lady Doves win their first league title.

She scored 5 goals at the CECAFA CAF Women’s Champions League Qualifiers.

Ikwaput, while at olila High, won the Airtel FUFA Female Best Player in 2017.

The Men’s final Shortlist that has Shafic Kagimu (URA), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers), Aziz Kayondo (Vipers), Eric Kambale (Express) and Yunus Sentamu (Vipers) will be revealed on Friday.

Former Winners

Male: Farouk Miya (Vipers)
Female: Sandra Nabweteeme (Kawempe Muslim)

Male: Shaban Muhammad (Onduparaka)
Female: Hasifa Nassuuna (Kawempe Muslim S.S)

Male: Muzamiru Mutyaba (KCCA)
Female: Fazilah Ikwaput (Olila high)

Male: Moses Waiswa (Vipers)
Female: Ruth Aturo (UCU Lady Cardinals)

Male: Allan Okello (KCCA)
Female: Juliet Nalukenge (Kawempe Muslim)

Not held due to Covid19



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *