2021 Airtel FUFA Awards: Nominees For Six Categories Revealed

Three nominees per each of the six categories for the 2021 Airtel FUFA Awards have been named during a press briefing on Wednesday morning at FUFA house in Mengo.

The six categories are Coach of the Year, Women Football Coach of the Year, Beach Soccer Player of the year, Member Associations’ Award, Futsal Player of the year and also Fans Favourite Uganda Foreign Based Player.

Earlier, the shortlist for Both Male and Female player of the year were revealed – Five in each category – at Stonehaven Restaurant.

FUFA head of communications Ahmed Hussein at the press conference

There are 13 categories altogether for the Awards due December 4th 2021 at Speke Resort in Munyonyo under the theme “Celebrating Uganda’s Finest Football Personalities.”

The Press conference in Mengo was addressed by Awards Committee Chairman Rogers Byamukama who was flanked by FUFA marketing boss Esther Musoke and Bobkins Kibirige of KIBO media.

The awards, that seeks to recognise footballing excellency, return after missing out last year due to Covid19.

“There were little activities and so we could not reward excellency last year, so it could not make any sense to award individuals when there were not many footballing activities,” explained Byamukama who also doubles as the FUFA EXCOM (Marketing).

“This year 2021, we were able to have the league and also restart the competitions, we also had international competitions for both Men and Women so it was important to bring back that diplomacy.”

Airtel FUFA Awards committee chairman Rogers Byamukama

Byamukama also commended title sponsor Airtel Uganda who leads a couple of partners. The Telecommunication giants have injected Sh100m into the event.

He stated: “Airtel has been with us from the beginning and we hope that we bring value to their brand.”

Other partners on board are ECO Bank, NIC Holding, Nile Special, BIDCO and 102.1 FUFA FM while Nivana and Pepsi have also joined the queue.

Byamukama urged the fans to vote and added that “we are known for transparency.”

He said that the Awards are making major strides and many innovations and more categories will be added in the near future.

He added: “We look forward to a good event and you must know that we started in January to plan for it. We hope this particular event will be better than the previous one.”

Byamukama demonstrating on the voting procedure

Wasswa Bbosa Headline Nominees

Express coach Wasswa Bbosa has been shortlisted for the Best Male Coach of the Year after his successful year at Wankulukuku.

The gaffer has been nominated alongside Morley Byekwaso who led Uganda Hippos to silver at the AFCON U20 and Hussein Mbalangu who helped Arua Hill earn UPL promotion.

Bbosa helped Express FC win the 2020/21 Uganda Premier League title after an eight-season drought and the 2021 CECAFA Kagame Cup for the first time in the club history.

The Club also played at the CAF Champions League where they were eliminated at the first hurdle of the qualifiers against El-Merrikh and also reached the Stanbic Uganda Cup semifinals.

The award was won by Shafic Bisaso in 2019 who was then a head coach at Proline FC.

Express FC coach Wasswa Bbosa. Club photo

For the Airtel FUFA Women Coach of the year, Ayub Khalifa will be seeking to defend his award but will face stiff competition from Fred Musime who guided Lady Doves to Women Super League triumph and a place at the Inaugural CAF Women Champions League Zonal Qualifiers. Alex Shida (She Maroons) is also a nominee.

Airtel-FUFA Male Player of the Year 2021 nominees earlier listed include Kenzo Erick Kambale (Express FC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC), Yunus Ssentamu (Vipers SC), Abdul Aziizi Kayondo (Vipers SC) and Shafik Kagimu (URA FC).

The Airtel-FUFA Female Player of the Year 2021 are Magret Kunihira (Kawempe Muslim Ladies FC), Joan Naggayi (She Maroons FC), Daisy Nakaziro (Lady Doves FC), Fauzia Najjemba (Kampala Queens FC) and Fazila Ikwaput (Lady Doves FC).

Media Coverage during the Presser

The Six Categories Nominees Shortlisted

Airtel Coach of the year

  1. Morley Byekwas (Uganda Hippos)
  2. Wasswa Bbosa (Express)
  3. Hussein Mbalangu (Arua Hill)

Airtel FUFA Women Coach of the year

  1. Fred Musiime (Lady Doves)
  2. Alex Sida (She Maroons)
  3. Ayub Khalifa (Uganda U20 Women)

Beach Soccer Player of the year

  1. Emmanuel Alex Wasswa (St Lawrence)
  2. Ambrose Kigozi (Buganda Royal)
  3. Isma Kawawulo (MUBS)

Member Associations’ Award 2021

  1. Express FC (Club)
  2. Uganda Youth Football Association (Special Interest Group)
  3. Kampala Region Football Association (Region Football Association)

Futsal Player of the year 2021

  1. Farouk Tumwesigye (Big Talent)
  2. Travis Mutyaba (Synergy)
  3. Najib Muwonge (Mengo)

Fans Favourite Uganda Foreign based players

  1. Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa)
  2. Joan Nabirye (Vihiga Queens, Kenya)
  3. Fahad Bayo (Ashdod, Israel)
  4. Taddeo Lwanga (Simba SC, Tanzania)

Other five categories are FUFA Presidential Award 2021, Best XI Men, Best XI Women, Fair Play Award, Best Squad a Particular Year.

Esther Musoke
Bobkins of Kibo media



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *