Oshaba On Target As Tooro Edge Mbarara

Saturday, October 23
*Tooro United 1-0 Mbarara City
*UPDF FC 1-0 Express FC
*KCCA FC 2-1 Gaddafi FC

Marvin Oshaba scored the all important goal for Tooro United as the hosts edged Mbarara City to earn a dream start to the 2021/22 Uganda Premier League season.

Oshaba, who bagged 9 goals in the 2020/21 Big league season as Tooro earned automatic promotion to the UPL, got off the mark with his first goal in the top flight league.

Tooro United, a club that is troubled with financial and ownership hardships, put everything aside and showcased a spirited performance against the Ankole Lions.

Playing at home in Buhinga Stadium, the Edward Golola Side started the better side and it wasn’t a surprise they scored first in the opening exchanges.

Oshaba was in the right place at the right time to tap home after goalkeeper Muhamad Ssekeba failed to thwart away corner.

It was all wild celebrations for the hosts fans at the muddy Buhinga Stadium.

Mbarara City could have levelled matters moments later but Henry Kitegenyi missed twice when in a one-on-one situation with goalkeeper.

The home side from there on sat deeply and defended tirelessly till the first 45 minutes of the game.

The second stanza saw a limited chances from both sides as they resorted to long balls.

However, in the dying minutes, Oshaba missed from the spot after he was fouled in the forbidden area by Mbarara City captain Hillary Mukundane.

It is a perfect Start to Edward Golola’s side who was making a return to the Uganda Premier League.

For Hussein Mbalangu, he suffers his first defeat as the caretaker manager for the Ankole Lions in this new season.

What Next For Both Teams – Tooro will host new entrants Gaddafi on Tuesday October 26th while Mbarara City will be up against UPDF away from home on the same day.

Team Starters

Tooro United XI – Muwuya Swaibu (GK), Kakooza Hood, Lubega Rashid, Lubacwa Gerald, Sserugo Adriane, Arinaitwe Martin, Ojara Denis, Mwanje Hussein, Oshaba Marvin, Nsubuga Mark, Kawooya Edward

Mbarara City XI – Ssekeba Muhamad (GK), Aheebwa Jasper, Othieno Steven, Bamba Soulymane, Mukundane Hilary, Karim Ramathan, Pistis Barenge , Solomon Okwalinga, Swalik Ssegujja, Jude Ssemugabi, Henry Kitegenyi



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.