Guinness 7s: All Set For Gulu Circuit At Pece Stadium

The Guinness Rugby Sevens moves to Gulu for the second leg this weekend at the Pece Stadium.

The games were initially supposed to be played at Gulu High school but later changed venue as the school pitch was deemed too open for the organisers to observe SOPs.

Action starts as early as 8am before the winner crowned later in the evening.

Twelve (12) teams have been pitted in three groups of four – Mileke 7s champions Betway KOBs have hosts Gulu Elephants, Impis and Warriors in Pool A.

Pool B has Pirates, Jinja Hippos, Mongers and Rams while Pool C comprises of Heathens, Buffaloes, Sailors and Gulu City Falcons.

The three Group winners will be joined by next five highest ranked teams to make it eight for the quarterfinals.

Courtesy of title sponsors Guinness, the circuit winner takes Sh500000 while the overall winner after the six circuits will bank Sh3m, followed by Sh2m and Sh1m for first and second runners up respectively.

Pirates who lost the Mileke 7s final against Betway KOBs 21-17 last Sunday, will be hoping to make amends.

KOBs lead the log with 22 points, Pirates are on 19, Heathens are in third with 17 while Buffaloes (15) and Jinja Hippos (13) follow closely.

All roads will lead to Soroti as Soroti Rangers host the third circuit on October 16.

Rujumba 7s, Kabale 7s and Coronation circuit will follow in that order.

Pirates and KOBs team lists for Gulu circuit



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.