Uganda Qualifies For U19 Cricket World Cup

Wednesday, October 6
Tanzania – 51
Uganda – 54 (10.2/50 ov, target 52)
*Uganda won by 8 wickets (with 238 balls remaining)

West Indies, here we come!

Uganda has qualified for the 2022 ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup that will be held in West Indies.

The Baby Cricket Cranes, the Men’s U19 team, have beaten Tanzania by eight wickets to topple the side on the five-team log in their last game.

Uganda needed to win convincingly on the last day, and after winning the toss, they backed up their decision to field first with impressive bowling as Tanzania crumbled very early.

Captain Pascal Murungi picked four wickets as Uganda limited Tanzania to 51 runs all out.

Captain Pascal Murungi (middle) before start of game against Uganda. Photo via Uganda Cricket Association

In response, despite Ronald Opio falling in the second Over, the team reached the target with just after the second ball of the 11th over to hand Tanzania their first loss at the tournament.

Namibia also had an outside chance of qualifying on the last day, but their work was made more complicated after Nigeria set 184 in their innings, a total they needed to chance in just two overs to have a chance.

Uganda who suffered heart break in 2017, are back at the World Cup stage after two appearances in 2004 (Dhaka, Bangladesh) and 2006 (Colombo, Sri Lanka)

It has been a great show of resilience for Uganda who started with a loss to Namibia before crawling back into the contest with back-to-back wins against Rwanda and Nigeria.

Uganda, tied on six points with Tanzania and Namibia, but edge the two sides to top place thanks to a better Net Run Rate of 2.128.

Two other African countries – South Africa and Zimbabwe – qualified automatically as two of the top eleven teams from last year’s tournament.

Table courtesy of ICC

The Heroic Uganda Squad
Uganda Pascal Murungi (Captain), Juma Miyagi, Brian Asaba, Cyrus Kakuru, Ronald Omara, Ronald Lutaaya, Joseph Baguma, Christopher Kidega, Matthew Musinguzi, Ismail Munir (Vice-Captain), Ackram Nsubuga, Pius Oloka, Isaac Sanyu Ategeka.

More details to follow



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *