Fred Mugerwa Renamed She Cranes Coach, Summons Squad

Uganda Netball Federation has on Wednesday unveiled experienced Fred Mugerwa Tabale as the new head coach of Uganda senior Women’s national netball team, the She Cranes.

Mugerwa returns to the National team after he was sacked in 2015 in dramatic turn of events despite qualifying the team to the World Cup.

He, alongside his assistants Sarah Namuddu and Harriet Kabuye, were unveiled to the press by UNF President Sarah Babirye Kityo at the Federation offices at Old Kampala.

Babirye confirmed that the coaches have been handed two-year contracts.

“We came up with an independent body to help us in selecting the National team head coach,” said Sarah Babirye Kityo. “Many applied for the job and 18 were shortlisted.”

“With Mugerwa, I am sure that we have got the very best for our national team. We have gone for a local coach because we have been to achieve all what we have in Netball with these coaches. We are a regional powerhouse and have been at the World Cup before.

“We believe that if we give this technical team enough support, the sky is the limit for us.”

Babirye handed Mugerwa the team’s players conduct book, UNF Constitution, a coach and a ball as a norm to usher in his new leadership as the head coach.

She has tasked Mugerwa to see that Uganda returns to the World Cup and also be number one in Africa.

Uganda are currently ranked number seven in the World and third in Africa per International Netball Federation Rankings.

Mugerwa has beaten the likes of former coach Vincent Kiwanuka, Nelson Bogere, Rashid Mubiru, Imelda Nyongesa, Hussein Kato, Martha Soigi among others to the She Cranes job.

Mugerwa summons National Team

Immediately after his unveiling, the coach summoned a squad of 23 players that will represent Uganda at the Pent Series and Africa Netball Championship in Namibia later this year.

The team will enter Buddo SS this Friday and start training.

The She Cranes team – Achan Jesca (Prisons), Lillian Ajio (Prisons), Viola Asingo (Prisons), Maggie Bagala (NIC), Irene Eyaru (KCCA), Asiina Kabandeera,(Weyonje), Faridah Kadondi (Weyonje), Privas Kayenyi (NIC), Norah Lukuuse (KCCA), Ruth Meeme (Prisons), Hadijja Nakabuye (Prisons), Fauzia Nakibuule (KCCA), Sarah Nakiyunga (NIC), Shaffie Nalwanja (KCCA), Sandra Nambirige (KCCA), Joan Nampungu (NIC), Shadia Nassanga (KCCA), Sylvia Nanyonga (Prisons), Racheal Nanyonga (NIC), Desire Obua Birungi (NIC), Sebi Nusura (Police), Stella Oyella (NIC), Alicia Wasagala (Prisons)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.