Micho Adds KCCA FC Striker To Uganda Cranes Squad

Uganda Cranes coach Milutin Micho Sredejovich has added KCCA FC striker Charles Lwanga to the team preparing to face Rwanda in the World Cup Qualifiers.

Lwanga has been in brilliant form since joining KCCA FC from SC Villa.

He bagged 11 league goals; the most by a KCCA FC player last season.

He impressed Micho on Thursday when he scored against Uganda Cranes in a practice match that KCCA FC lost.

Nicknamed Neymar, Lwanga scored from a long range to leave goalkeeper Alionzi Nafian reeling.

The forward who started his football career at Kirinya Soccer Academy in 2016, has played for Villa junior team and also represented St Mary’s SS in Kitende at schools competitions.

Charles Lwanga. Courtesy photo

On Thursday, Micho continued to trim the Cranes squad when he dropped Patrick Mbowa and Ashraf Mandela of URA FC, and KCCA FC trio of Brian Aheebwa, Herbert Achai and Musa Ramathan.

Five players were also dropped on Wednesday – David Bagoole (Vipers), George Kaddu (Wakiso Giants), Joachim Ojera (URA), Ibrahim Wamana (UPDF) and Davis Kasirye (KCCA).

After two opening draws against Kenya and Mali, there is no room for error as Uganda Cranes readies for Rwanda double header this month.

Micho has dropped his captain Emmanuel Okwi while Nine foreign based players have been added to the team.

The Uganda Cranes Updated Provisional Squad for Rwanda Double-header:

Goalkeepers: Mutakubwa Joel (Express FC), Alionzi Nafian (URA FC), Tamale Simon (Soltilo Bright Stars FC), Charles Lukwago (St George, Ethiopia), Ismail Watenga (Chippa United, South Africa)

Defenders: Willa Paul (Vipers SC), Wafula Innocent (KCCA FC), Kayondo Aziz (Vipers SC), Walusimbi Enock (Express FC), Iguma Denis (KCCA FC), Najib Fesali (URAFC), Mulondo Livingstone (Vipers SC), Waswa Geofrey (KCCA FC), Isaac Muleme (Victoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Kizza Mustafa (Montreal, Canada), Timothy Awany (Ashdod, Israel).

Midfielders: Byaruhanga Bobosi (Vipers SC), Kakooza Mahad (Express FC), Kagimu Shafik (URA FC), Karisa Milton (Vipers SC), Mato Rogers, Poloto Julius (KCCA FC), Orit Ibrahim (Vipers SC), Kizza Martin (Express FC), Khalid Aucho (Young Africans, Tanzania), Taddeo Lwanga (Simba, Tanzania), Moses Waiswa (SuperSport United, South Africa)

Strikers: Sentamu Yunus (Vipers SC), Mukwala Stephen (URA FC), Rwothomio Cromwell (URA FC), Anaku Sadat (KCCA FC), Charles Lwanga (KCCA), Fahad Bayo (Ashdod, Israel)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *