17 Teams Confirmed For Kings Of Africa University Rugby 7s in Makerere

Seventeen Universities have confirmed their participation for the Kings of Africa University Rugby 7s next month.

The second edition of the tournament returns in October 8-10 2021 at the Makerere University’s Graveyard – IMPIS grounds.

Makerere is hosting the event alongside the 2nd FASU Tennis Slam.

Universities from Uganda, Kenya, Libya, South Africa and Zimbabwe have confirmed Participation.

The Federation of Africa University Sports (FASU) Tennis Championship is aimed at refining the Africa students ahead of the world University games next year.

The Rugby Championship is a qualifier to the FISU University World Rugby Cup.

The winning University per gender will represent Africa at the FISU World Cup to be held in Kazan, Russia in 2022.

“It is not by accident that we are hosting these games once again, we won the bid to host the Africa Rugby 7s game for three consecutive years and we have already started witnessing positive results” AUUS president Peninnah Kabenge.

“It will be very competitive and we are doing our level best to see whether Uganda can finally win it and get an opportunity to represent the country at the World Stage.”

The first edition in 2019 was won by the University of Johannesburg from South Africa while Makerere came third.

In related developments, the Association of Uganda University Sports (AUUS) in conjunction with the Federation of Africa University Sports (FASU), has joined the rest of the World to celebrate the international Day of University Sports (IDUS) today (20th September 2021).

The day was officially proclaimed by the United Nations Education, Science and Culture Organisation (UNESCO).

The following universities have confirmed participation.

  1. Jomo Kenyatta University of Science and Technology
  2. Kenyatta University
  3. United States International University-Africa
  4. Mbarara University of Science and Technology
  5. University of Benghazi
  6. University of Tripoli
  7. University of KwaZulu Natal
  8. Makerere University
  9. University of Johannesburg
  10. University of Pretoria
  11. Stellenbosch University
  12. Women’s University in Africa
  13. North West University
  14. Kabale University
  15. Busitema University
  16. Day Star University
  17. Meru University



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.