Eight Teams Confirmed For Inaugural CAF Women’s Champions League

The Confederation of African Association has confirmed the eight teams that will participate in the inaugural TotalEnergies CAF Women’s Champions League competition slated in Egypt in November 2021.

This follows the conclusion of the regional qualification that saw the six CAF regions host preliminary qualifiers.

The 2021 CAF Women’s Champions League will be the 1st edition of the African women’s club football championship organised by the Confederation of African Football (CAF). This edition will be held in Cairo, Egypt between 5th to 19 November this year.

Egypt, the hosts, will be represented by Wadi Degla FC who gained automatic qualification as hosts of the tournament. ASFAR FC is the other team from North Africa that will take part in the tournament.

Wafu B will be represented by two teams that is Hasaacas Ladies team from Ghana and Rivers Angels from Nigeria. This is because it is the region of the current Africa Women Cup of Nations champions.

The other zones will be represented by Mali’s AS Mande from WAF A, Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies team from the Cosafa Region South Africa, UNIFFAC by Malabo King FC (Equatorial Guinea).

From the CECAFA region, Vihiga Queens FC from Kenya sealed their place in this year’s competition after beating Commercial Bank of Ethiopia by 2-1 in the finals held in Nairobi, Kenya this month.

The eight teams will be divided into two groups of four. The first two in each group will advance to the semi-finals.

The Eight Qualified Teams

Wadi Degla –Egypt, Notth Africa.

ASFAR FC – Morocco, UNAF region
As Mande – Mali, WAF A

Hasaacas Ladies – Ghana, WAF B
Rivers Angels – Nigeria, WAF B

Malabo Kings – Equatorial Guinea, UNIFFAC

Vihiga Queens – Kenya, Cecafa

Mamelodi Sundowns Ladies – South Africa, Cosafa



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.