Netball: Uganda Men’s National Team Off To Pretoria For International Championship

Kampala University proprietor, Professor Al-Hajji Badru Kateregga, together with the National Council of Sports (NCS) General Secretary Dr. Bernard Patrick Ogwel have officially flagged off the Men’s National Netball team.

The men’s netball team (the Rock) have set off to Pretoria, South Africa, where they are expected to take part in the International Males Netball Championship.

A total of twelve athletes have made the trip and will be under the stewardship of the former she cranes head coach Vicent Kiwanuka as they quest to return glory to the pearl of Africa.

The federation and NCS however confirm that the professor has offered the team all the required tickets so as to facilitate the journey and make the country’s presence at the tournament a reality.

“The past federation leaders didn’t understand my contribution and love for the sport of netball in this country. This federation understands me more and I promise to support them more,” a passionate professor Kateregga highlighted.

The federation president Sarah Babirye Kityo also used the platform to pledge her support to developing the Men’s team to the World Cup level.

“I promised to develop women, youth and men’s netball in my reign, this is just a beginning,” Sarah Babirye Kityo netball president asserted.

The team will be aiming at qualifying for the African Nations Cup that is slated for March 2022 in Morocco.

This will be the first time that the Uganda men’s team get to compete internationally since 2008 when the U21 team showed face at the championships in Nairobi Kenya.

The competition has teams like: South Africa, Pakistan, Kenya, Zimbabwe among others.

Team Squad

Oryen Stephen, Kigozi Gonzaga Conza, Kimbowa Hussein, Muzahura Wilberforce, Wasswa Disan Mubiru, Ssekyondwa Bonny, Eppa Richard Eric, Katumba Juma, Kato Hassan Nouredine, Ssenfuka Joseph, Santino Mandut, and James Bogere.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *