Victoria Pearls: Newly Rebranded Lady Cricket Team Off To Botswana

Uganda’s ladies national Cricket team, just recently named The Victoria Pearls, has been flagged off to Gabarone, Botswana.

The team will be taking part in the ICC Africa Women’s Cricket T20 Champions slated for September 7-20.

Having enjoyed success in the past years, the team has been rebranded by Uganda Cricket Association.

The inspiration for the rebrand has been inspired bt the Country’s heritage.
Victoria Pearls – resonates with the country’s largest Water body Lake Victoria and ‘Pearl of Africa’.

The team was sent off by National Council of Sports Assistant General Secretary David Katende in a press briefing at Entebbe Cricket Oval.

“I want to thank the leadership of UCA for the effort you have been put in to develop the game of Cricket, and inclusiveness and offering opportunities to these girls,” started Katende.

“As Government, Cricket is one of those Sports we are looking critically to support more. I have to commend the Ladies team, they are one of the most disciplined and smart team.

“You look like champions already. We are going to swim in familiar waters. Lets go and defend our name. Please die a little for your country. You are ambassadors and fly our flag high.”

The team leaves after weeks of training under new coach Suraj Karavadra and this will be his first assignment since taking charge.

Recently, Karavadra appointed Immaculate Nakisuyi as the new captain ahead of the Qualifiers.

Uganda, pitted in Group alongside Nigeria, Cameroon and Sierra Leone, will seek to snatch the sole ticket at the tournament to advance directly to the global Qualifiers.

Group A has hosts Botswana, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Tanzania, Malawi and Mozambique, with top two teams reaching the semis.

Uganda beat Zimbabwe in 2017 by three wickets to win the championship and will be hoping for similar fortunes going to Gabarone.

Cricket Association CEO Martin Ondeko also revealed the team’s readiness as Uganda target to advance to the 2022 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 Qualifier tournament.

The Victoria Pearls Squad:
Immaculate Nakisuyi (Captain), Janet Mbabazi (Vice-Captain), Rachel Ntono, Proscovia Alako, Esther Iloku, Rita Musamali, Naomi Kayondo, Stephanie Nampiina, Irene Alumo, Patricia Malemikia, Consy Aweko, Kevin Awino, Damalie Busingye.

Officials: Suraj Karavadra (Head Coach), Alpha Adowa (Assistant Coach), Edgar Kazibwe (Team Psychologist), Shamim Nassali (Team Physiotherapist), Denis Musali (Media Manager), Lwiza Nabulwala (Team Manager)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.