FUFA AGM Approves Moses Magogo For Third Term

Moses Magogo will remain as the Federation of Uganda Football Association President for the next four years (2021-2025).

Magogo was approved by the 97th FUFA Ordinary General Assembly held on Saturday 21st August 2021 in Mbale.

The new term will be the third for Magogo who came into office in 2013 to replace Dr Lawrence Mulindwa.

In June this year, Magogo was nominated unopposed by the FUFA Electoral Committee after a controversial Electoral process.

The Electoral Committee then revealed that only incumbent Magogo returned the nomination forms of the three aspirants.

Mujib Kasule failed to get the required signatures while Allan Ssewanyana, even after he was given a five-day extension granted, brought back a petition asking to be allowed to stand minus meeting the requirements.

On Saturday in Mbale, Magogo was voted unanimously by the members of the Assembly in an assembly where Sports Minister Hamson Obua was the Chief Guest while NCS Secretary General Bernard Ogwel was in attendance as well.

FUFA Executive with Guest of Honour Minister Hamson Obua (middle, seated)

“Thank you yet again for another opportunity. It is an emotional moment knowing how far we have come. The next four years will definitely be about consolidating what we have achieved so far and igniting the next gear,” Magogo stated in his remarks as quoted by FUFA media.

“The leadership at FUFA is driven by the desire to deliver football to all stakeholders irrespective of any prevailing situations. The past two terms of our administration have witnessed evolution of the game both on and off the field in terms of delivery at administrative, management and technical levels. History has been written and tears of joy have been witnessed.”

“Our strategic plan for the next four years dubbed ‘Consolidate and Take Off’ will see FUFA grow to the highest levels further in the Region and on the African Continent.”

Magogo will lead the FUFA Executive Committee that has Justus Mugisha (FUFA First Vice President), Darius Mugoye (FUFA Second Vice President) and Florence Nakiwala Kiyingi (FUFA Third Vice President).

Other members are Issa Magoola, Dan Obote, Rasul Ibrahim Ariga, Richard Ochom, Agnes Mugena, Sam Mpiima, Rogers Byamukama, Apollo Ahimbisibwe and Frank Ankuzire.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *