Big League Playoffs: Gaddafi Vs Proline: Preview, Lineups and How To Watch

Tuesday, August 17
*Playoffs Final: Gaddafi FC v Proline FC, 12pm
*Final: Arua Hill SC v Tooro United FC, 3pm

Gaddafi FC and Proline meet on Tuesday at FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru with the winner earning promotion to StarTimes Uganda Premier League.

Gaddafi who finished second with 24 points in Elgon group, beat Nyamityobora 3-0 in the playoffs semis on Sunday.

“I think if we play like the way we did on Sunday, we definitely shall make it in the Uganda Premier League,” briefly said Gaddafi FC coach Hassan Zungu.

Ronald Bithum scored twice, Mark Bamukyaye and James Otim scored one each in a one sided game.

Proline negotiated passage to this stage by finishing second in the Rwenzori division with 29 points before eliminating Blacks Power with a late 2-1 victory at Njeru.

Brian Umony scored the late winner for Proline to complete a comeback that started with Brian Mato canceling Erias Omokori’s opener.

Proline will be banking on pedigree having been at this stage before – They beat Sporting United (Lira) 4-1 at Nakivubo in the playoffs final in 2016. Gift Ali, Simon Mbazira and Edirisa Lubega Torres (2) made Dickens Okwir strike a consolation in a game that saw Mbazira sent off in the closing stages.

Proline were 2018/19 Big League champions, beating Wakiso Giants 2-1 in the final at Lugogo after earning direct promotion after topping Rwenzori group.

Gaddafi FC will rely on their form that has inspired their meteoric rise for a team that was playing Regional League two seasons ago.

In October 2020, Eastern region side Gaddafi FC beat North Eastern region champions Sansiro FC to storm the StarTimes FUFA Big League. They won the Regional League promotional playoff at Njeru thanks to goals from Patrick Asiku, Mark Bamukyaye and Ronald Bithum Nsumbiano.

Probable Lineups

Gaddafi FC – Paul Mujapani, Thomas Ochungu, Najib Fessali, Lawrence Kasadha, Umar Kyeyune, Steven Munguchi, Pascal Ngobi, Mark Bamukyaye, James Otim, Ronald Bithum, Joel Madondo

Proline – Nicholas Ssebwato, Brian Mato, Richard Ajuna, Ibrahim Ssendi, Yusuf Mukisa, Hamza Mulambuzi, Joshua Okiror, Noordin Bunjo, Brian Umony, Diego Hamis Kizza, Hakim Kiwanuka

How To Watch – FUFA has confirmed that the games are played behind closed doors. Only option is to watch via Sanyuka TV (channel 222 on StarTimes).



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *