2021 AFCON Draw: Hosts Cameroon To Face Burkina Faso In Opener

2021 AFCON Groups
*Group A – Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Ethiopia Cape Verde
*Group B – Senegal, Zimbabwe, Guinea, Malawi
*Group C – Morocco, Ghana, Comoros, Gabon
*Group D – Nigeria, Egypt, Sudan, Guinea Bissau
*Group E – Algeria, Sierra Leone, Equatorial Guinea, Ivory Coast
Group F – Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Gambia

Hosts Cameroon will face Burkina Faso in the opening game of the 2021 TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations.

This, has been revealed in the draw held at the Yaounde Conference Centre.

Cameroon and Burkina Faso will face off in the tournament’s opener on January 9 2022 in Group A at the Paul Biya Stadium in Yaounde.

1962 Winners Ethiopia and 2013 Quarter finalists Cape Verde are the other teams in Group A.

Full Schedule as released by CAF

Burkina Faso who qualified to the tournament through Pool B that also had Uganda Cranes, return to the tournament after missing out in 2019.

Their best performance was a place in the final where they lost to Nigeria at the 2013 edition.

They will be hoping to stun hosts Cameroon who have won the tournament five times (1984, 1998, 2000, 2002, 2017).

Rest of the 2021 AFCON Groups

Senegal’s Lions of Terranga who have never won the tournament, will be fancying their chances to top Group B that also has Zimbabwe, Guinea and Malawi.

There will be a titanic clash in Group C between Morocco’s Atlas Lions and four-time winners Ghana Black Stars. The Pool also has 2017 hosts Gabon and debutants Comoros.

The biggest tie of all will be in Group D which will see three-time winners Nigeria Super Eagles face Egyptian Pharaohs who are the seven-time record winners.

Defending champions Algeria have their work cut out in Group E that has Ivory Coast’s Elephants who won the title in 1992 and 2015, Sierra Leone who return since 1996 and Equatorial Guinea.

2004 Winners Tunisia have 1972 finalist Mali in Group F, Mauritania and Gambia who topped Group D in Qualifiers to qualify for the first time in history.

The top two teams of each group, along with the best four third-placed teams, will advance to the round of 16.

Algeria are the defending champion after they beat Senegal 1-0 in the 2019 edition which was hosted in Egypt.

Uganda Cranes (red) in action against Burkina Faso at St Mary’s Stadium in Kitende in the AFCON qualifiers. Goal photo

Uganda Cranes failed to qualify to AFCON after finishing third in Group B of the Qualifiers, with Burkina Faso and Malawi going through in a group that saw South Sudan finish bottom.

The rescheduled tournament hosted by Cameroon and will take place from 9 January to 6 February 2022.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.