Olympics: Team Uganda Returns, Set for Presidential Welcome In Kololo

The Uganda’s team at the concluded 2020 Olympics have returned from Tokyo after an impressive showing at the games.

The team arrived at Entebbe International Airport on Tuesday 1:30pm aboard Emirates Airlines.

They were quickly whisked away to Kololo grounds for Covid19 tests before meeting President Museveni on Wednesday at midday.

Uganda won four medals at the games – the highest number won at a single Olympics event.

Peruth Chemutai is the first female athlete to win a medal the Olympics for Uganda. Sanyuka tv photo

The winners were Joshua Cheptegei (5000m gold, 10000m silver), Peruth Chemutai (3000m steeplechase gold) and Jacob Kiplimo (10000m silver).

The medalists who were put in a procession, waved to the masses who converged on road sides from Entebbe Airport to Kololo.

Some participants, boxers and swimmers, came back in the country much earlier.

Team Uganda at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics

*Athletes – Esther Chebet, Sarah Chelangat, Albert Chemutai, Prisca Chesang, Ronald Musagala, Winnie Nanyondo, Halima Nakaayi, Joshua Cheptegei, Jacob Kiplimo, Oscar Chelimo, Stephen Kissa, Peruth Chemutai, Mercyline Chelangat, Immaculate Chemutai, Juliet Chekwel, Stephen Kiprotich, Filex Chemongesi, Fred Musobo, Shida Leni

*Boxing – Catherine Nanziri, Musa Shadir Bwogi, David Kavuma Ssemujju

*Rowing – Grace Kathleen Noble

*Swimming – Kirabo Namutebi, Ambala Atuhaire

*Technical officials – Adrianus Ruiter (Coach, Athletics – Tokyo), Faustino Kiwa (Coach, Athletics – Sapporo), Gordon Ahimbisibwe (Coach, Athletics – Sapporo), Domenic Otucet (Official – Athletics, Tokyo), Margaret Ijala (Coach – Athletics, Tokyo), Narisesio Bigingo (Coach – Athletics, Tokyo), Benjamin Njia (Coach – Athletics, Tokyo), Andrew Sorowen (Official – Athletics, Tokyo), Patrick Lihenda (Coach, Boxing), Hassan Mohammed Mulandi (Coach, Boxing), Rodrick Muhumuza (Coach, Rowing), Ahsan Iqbal (Coach, Rowing), Muzafaru Muwanguzi (Coach, Swimming), Dunstan Nsubuga (NOC), Sadik Nasiwu (NOC), Salim Ssenkungu Musoke (ITO, Weightlifting), Aciga Fula (ITO, Boxing)

*General officials – Denis Hamson Obua (head of delegation), William Blick (IOC Member), Dr Donald Rukare (President NOC), Beatrice Ayikoru (Chef De Mission), Dr. Bernard Patrick Ogwel (General Team manager), Dr Jacqueline Nana Nakiddu (Team doctor), Prossy Namusisi (Physiotherapist), Tom Oomen (Physiotherapist), Shadiah Nakamanya (Chaperone), Aisha Nassanga (Media Liaison), Elijah Njawuzi (Team Admin), Ivan Mugowa (Team Admin), Moses Mwase (NOC), Ganzi Mugula (Athletes Representative)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *