Express, KCCA Among 10 Confirmed Teams For 2021 CECAFA Kagame Cup

The Council for East and Central Africa Football Associations has confirmed the teams and dates for this year’s CECAFA Kagame Cup.

It will be held in Dar Es Salaam in Tanzania due August 1-15 while the draws will be conducted on July 27.

The tournament returns after missing out in 2020 due to Coronavirus pandemic.

CECAFA has confirmed that the tournament has attracted 10 clubs including guests Big Bullets from Malawi.

Uganda Premier League champions Express FC makes a return to the regional meet and will be joined by KCCA FC who are the defending champions of the competition.

KCCA FC, then coached by Mike Mutebi, beat Azam FC 1-0 in 2019 to win the Cecafa at the Stade de Kigali in Rwanda

Only three Uganda Clubs have won this competition since its inception in 1974 – KCCA (1978, 2019), SC Villa (1987, 2003, 2005) and Police (2006).

Express FC are beaten finalists in 1993 and 1994, surrendering the title to Al-Merrikh (Sudan) and Simba (Tanzania).

CECAFA Kagame Cup 2021 Confirmed Teams:
*Uganda – Express & KCCA
*Tanzania – Young Africans & Azam FC (Tanzania)
*Kenya – Tusker FC
*Rwanda – APR
*Burundi – Le Messager Ngozi FC
*South Sudan – Altabara FC
*Zanzibar – KMKM SC
*Malawi – Big Bullets (Guests)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.