CAF Champions League: Al Ahly Thrash 10-man Kaizer Chiefs To 10th Crown

Saturday, July 17
*Kaizer Chiefs (South Africa) 0-3 Al Ahly (Egypt)

Egyptian giants Al Ahly have been crowned champions of Africa for a record-extending 10th time.

Pitso Mosimane’s side beat South Africa’s Kaizer Chiefs 3-0 in a CAF Champions League final at Mohammed V stadium in Casablanca.

Amakhosi, at this stage for the first time, had their hopes all but erased when youngster Happy Mashiane was sent off after VAR review at the stroke of halftime.

It was a one-way avenue thereafter in the second half as Al Ahly proved too good with goals from Mohamed Sherif, Mohamed Kafsa and Amr Soulia saw the title go to Cairo.

CAF Champions League final action. Kaizer chiefs photo

Sherif raced onto a defence splitting pass to beat goalkeeper Akpeyi with an exquisite flick for the opening goal in the 53rd minute.

Kafsha doubled the lead ten minutes later with a curler after playing one-two with Sherif to score in off the woodwork.

The third was also a beauty with Soulia bundling home with a timely shot with the inside of his right foot to give the Nigerian goalkeeper no chance.

Samir Nurkovic got Kaizer’s best chance earlier in the first half but his curled shot was collected by the goalkeeper. The Amakhosi rarely threatened in a game they were the second best.

Champions of Africa – Al Ahly

Its the third CAF Champions League trophy for Mosimane who won his first in 2016 with Mamelodi Sundowns.

Al Ahly have won 10 CAF Champions League titles having won previously in 1982,  1987,  2001,  2005,  2006,  2008,  2012,  2013 and 2020.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.