UPL: Nsimbe Hat-trick Propels MYDA To Third Victory

Uganda Premier League
MYDA FC 3-0 Busoga United FC
King George IV Memorial Stadium, Tororo
Friday, May 14

Ibrahim Nsimbe ensured MYDA FC keep their dream of staying in the Uganda Premier League alive as he scored a hat trick in a 3-0 victory over Busoga United FC on Friday, May 15.

Nsimbe who is the leading goalscorer for the Tororo based side netted twice in the first half and added another in the last 45 minutes.

MYDA who came into the contest on the back of a four-game winless run started on the back foot as Busoga pressed for an opener.

However, against the run of play, Nsimbe put the hosts ahead on 21 minutes with his 8th goal of a campaign.

Seven minutes later, Busoga was handed a glorious opportunity to level matters but Sharif Kimbowa missed after he was handed responsibility from the spot.

Busoga kept on pressing for an equaliser but Andrew Ssekandi who was given the nod to start ahead of Isaac Osikol, in between the sticks, was keeping them at bay.

Inside the two minutes added onto the first half, Nsimbe struck again to ensure MYDA heads into the break with a two-goal advantage.

Busoga made a double substitution a few minutes into the second half with Edrine Opaala and Isaac Wagoina replacing the in-effective Elvis Ngonde and Joseph Opolot, in search of a way back.

As the visitors searched for a way back into the contest, disaster struck three minutes past the hour mark as Nsimbe completed his hat trick to take his tally for the season to 10 and literally put the contest to bed.

From there on wards, it was just a matter of seeing out the result and MYDA did exactly that as they held on to what may prove to be three vital points in their bid to avoid the drop.

The victory sees MYDA improve to 14 points for the season but stay in 15th place, six points adrift of safety.

For Busoga, they stay in 13th with 26 points, six above the relegation zone.

In their next fixtures, Busoga United host Express FC on Tuesday while MYDA are away to Kitara FC on the same day.

How both teams started


Andrew Ssekandi (GK), Brandy Lojum, Amos Etojo, Isma Mafabi, Derrick Basoga, Stephen Okello, Eric Mutebi, Paul Musamali, Amos Kirya, Ibrahim Nsimbe, Rashid Mpata.

Busoga United FC

Rogers Omedwa (GK), Franco Onen, George Kiryowa, Magero Balabala, Shafic Kaketo, George Kasonko, Jeromy Kirya, Elvis Ngonde, Anthony Mayanja, Joseph Opolot, Sharif Kimbowa.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *