Drama As Wakiso Beat Police To Move Clear Of Relegation Zone

Wednesday, April 28th
-Wakiso Giants FC 3-1 Police FC
-Express 2-0 Onduparaka
-MYDA 0-4 Vipers sc

It was all drama at the Kabaka Kyabaggu Stadium as Wakiso Giants FC beat Police FC 3-1 on Wednesday.

Midfielder Joshua Lubwama scored two penalties and Viane Ssekajugo added a third goal for the Purple Sharks.

Herman Wasswa netted the only goal for the visitors on the afternoon.

Police also had Tony Mawejje and Wasswa’s strikes disallowed for offside in the second half.

Lubwama gave hosts the lead in the 17th minute from the penalty after Ssekajugo was fouled in the area by Henry Katongole.

Police searched for an instant leveller but midfielder Yusuf Ssozi was twice denied by goalkeeper Samson Kirya.

Six minutes after the break, Lubwama doubled Wakiso Giants lead, converting from the spot for the second time after Eric Ssenjobe handled in the area.

Mawejje thought he had halved the deficit but his effort was ruled out for offside in the build up.

Ssekajugo then put the game to bed in the 62nd minute after collecting from Frank Ssebuufu.

However, Police were not going to go down without a fight as first, Wasswa’s rebounded effort after Ruben Kimera’s strike struck the upright, was ruled out for offside.

Then he headed in what would prove to be just a mere consolation from Duncan Sseninde’s cross.

Despite animated antics by the furious Police FC tactician Abdallah Mubiru, on the touch-line and late pressure from the Cops, Wakiso saw out the victory and bag all three points.

The result means Wakiso stay in 13th on the log with 23 points, four away from the relegation zone.

For Police, they are 4th with 37 points from 21 games.

In their next league fixtures, Wakiso Giants host UPDF FC while Police FC take a short trip in Wankulukuku to face Express FC. However, both side will first be in action in the Uganda Cup round of 16.

Teams Used

Wakiso Giants

Samson Kirya (GK), Geriga Atendele, Fahad Kawooya, Hassan Wasswa, Simon Namwanja, Joshua Lubwama, Hassan Ssenyonjo, Rahmat Ssenfuka, Viane Ssekajugo, Frank Ssebuufu, Ivan Bogere.

Police FC

Tom Ikara (GK), Tonny Kiwalazi, Eric Ssenjobe, Henry Katongole, Hassan Mahmood, Yusuf Ssozi, Frank Tumwesigye, Tonny Mawejje, Muwadda Mawejje, Ben Ochen, Brian Mululi.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *