Ssentongo Headlines Falcons Squad As Six-Time Winners Target Playoffs

Brian Ssentongo has been included in the Falcons squad for the 2021 National Basketball League season.

This will be Ssentongo’s third spell at the home of six-time champions – He left the club in 2008 and 2014.

He has played for Miracle Eagles, Ndejje University and City Oilers as well.

He played for KIU Titans in the 2019 season and joined Sharing Youth last year. He departs without playing a single minute for the Nsambya side after the season was called off before tip-off due to Covid19.

Brian Ssentongo (middle) powers past two Warriors players during a National Basketball League playoffs at MTN Indoor Arena in Lugogo. (Tsaubah Stone/FUBA)

“Ssentongo is a big addition to our squad,” says club captain and Manager Douglas Uwizera. “Our biggest problem recently was size, we were actually one of the smallest teams and we struggled to rebound.”

“With Ssentongo and a couple of other new additions, I am confident that we can go all the way to the playoffs.”

Uwizera says that Falcons have been hit financially ahead of the season where teams are required to test for Covid19 every after two weeks.

Bbosa Wafula (Gulu Hawks), Arthur Wanyoto (Bush Court), Gerrard Ayiko (Renor Duhaga), Abdul Ntale (Our Saviour), Derrick Olama (YMCA), Edrine Walujjo (Knight Riders), Emmanuel Ateng (JKL Dolphins) and Shaffy Gaston (MUBS) are the other new signings.

Muzaifa Ssentongo is the only departure after he asked for release forms from the club.

Other notable stars like Vinnie Jurua, Andrew ‘Mabenz’ Opio and Dickson Asiku have been retained.

Falcons beating heart: Douglas Uwizera goes for a lay-up against Sharing Youth at NBL. (FUBA)

The side finished 10th the previous season, winning four of the 22 regular season games to miss out on a spot in playoffs.

Coached by Dissan Norman and Pai Kamoga, Falcons will open their 2021 NBL campaign on April 18 against Sharing Youth before facing UPDF and City Oilers.

They started their league preparations earlier this month and have been holding training sessions at Makerere court.

Did You Know – Falcons last won the league title in 2007 when they beat Warriors.

Falcons Basketball Team Players

Abdul Ntale, Dickson Asiku, Vinnie Jurua, Henrison Mbazira, Derrick Olama, Trezor Murongani, Edrine Walujjo, Emmanuel Ateng, Bbosa Wafula, Andrew Opio, Gerrard Ayiko, Arthur Wanyoto, Emmanuel Mwesigwa, Douglas Uwizera, Shaffy Gaston, Brian Ssentongo.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *