Masaza Cup: Gomba Sees Off Buddu To Clinch 5th Title

March 6th
Gomba 3-1 Buddu
St. Mary’s Stadium Kitende

Gomba FC overcame Buddu FC 3-1 to clinch the Masaza Cup at St.Mary’s Stadium in Kitende on Saturday, February 06..

For the first in Masaza Cup final, there were no fans allowed to access the stadium due to Covid-19 restrictions.

The record Champions have added another trophy onto their name having lifted it in 2004, 2009, 2013 and 2017.

Charles Bbaale, George Kaddu and Fred Gift were all on target for the Record Champions with Titus Sematimba Pulling one back for Buddu.

To reach the finals, Gomba beat Busiro on penalties 5-3 while Buddu edged Bulemeezi 1-0.

Bbaale opened up the scoring for the record champions tapping home thanks to Jackson Semugabi’s assist inside two minutes.

Six minutes later, Sematimba headed in from a corner to level matters for Buddu.

Moments later, Gomba regained their lead with Kaddu’s shot from a free kick going straight into the back of the net.

Five minutes later, Gift was found onside and he made no mistake tapping in past a hapless Yawe Ssebanja to make it 3-1.

After recess, there was nothing to write home about as Gomba sat at the back waiting to catch Buddu on the break.

The trick had worked out but Semugabi, Bbaale missed twice from good positions.

Midfielder Fred Athwera saw himself shown matching orders, towards the end of the game, but that wasn’t enough for Buddu to come back into the game with Gomba playing with a man less.

In the third play-off game, Busiro beat Bulemeezi 5-3 on penalties after ending goalless in the 90 minutes, to finish third.

Bbaale who has been impressive for Gomba finished as the tournament top scorer with 8 goals.

Gomba now walk away with 12millions after finishing as the Champions.

This year’s Final, was a repeat of the 2016 final of the Masaza Cup tournament which Buddu won.

How they lined up

Gomba Starting XI

Francis Anguzu (G.K), Hamis Kefero Dagada, George Kaddu, Abdallah Ssentongo, Fred Gift, Fred Atuhwera, Ali Bayo Arshavin, George Kiryowa, Jackson Ssemugabi,Junior Juma Lutakome, Charles Bbaale.


Peter Katongole (G.K), Derrick Mbowa, Ashraf Zizinga, Isaac Musiima, Colline Seruwu.

Buddu Starting XI

Farouk Yawe Ssebanja (G.K), Angello Kizza, Edward Namasa, Gideon Odongo, Missi Ssemugera, Fahad Nsamba, Titus Ssematimba, Sharif Ssengendo, Marvin Kavuma, Jibril Nsimbe, Frank Sebuufu

Nazir Obbo, Farouk Sekayi, Jovan Mawejje, Emmanuel Mwesigwa.

Past Winners

2004 – Gomba
2005 – Mawokota
2006 – Kooki 2-2 Bugerere [4-2 pen]
2007 – Mawokota bt Gomba
2008 – Kyaddondo 2-0 Gomba
2009 – Gomba 1-1 Mawogola [5-4 pen]
2010 – not held
2011- Buluuli 2-1 Bulemeezi
2012 – Bulemeezi 1-0 Buweekula
2013 – Mawokota 1-0 Ssingo
2014 – Gomba 0-0 Ssingo [[4-3 pen]
2015 – Ssingo 5-0 Buddu
2016 – Buddu 1-1 Gomba [6-5 pen]
2017 – Gomba 1-0 Ssingo
2018 – Ssingo 1-1 Buddu [12-11 pen]
2019 – Busiro 0-1 Bulemeezi
2020 – Gomba 3-1 Buddu



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.