Muhamood Hat-trick Lifts Police Past Mbarara City

Wednesday, March 3
*Uganda Police FC 3-1 Mbarara City

Uganda Police FC beat Mbarara City FC 3-1 in a StarTimes Uganda Premier League game played at the MTN Omondi Stadium in Lugogo.

Defender Hassan Mahamood scored all the three goals for hosts while Jude Ssemugabi scored the only goal for the Ankole Lions.

The Visitors had the best chances in the opening minutes but Wol Makueth strike was kept away by Mahamood after Henry Kitegenyi had beaten defender Dennis Rukundo.

Police later picked the rhythm and could have gone ahead with Frank Tumwesigye and Ruben Kimera freekics that were kept out by goalkeeper Muhammad Ssekeba.

Mbarara found the net through Jude Ssemugabi in the 26th minute when he tapped in from Henry Kitegenyi.

In response, Police head coach Abdallah Mubiru made two quick substitutions in the 30th minute bringing on Mubaraka Nsubuga and Herman Wasswa for Ducan Sseninde and Muwadda Mawejje respectively.

With three minutes to the first half, Muhamood scored the equaliser for Police when he headed home from a Johnson Odong cross.

Police kicked off the second half with a high tempo and had a chance to take the lead but Tumwesigye’s effort just out the box was collected by Ssekeba while George Kiryowa’s header rattled the woodwork.

At the hour-mark, Muhamood gave police the lead with a header after a rebound from Herman Wasswa hit the crossbar.

Seven minutes later, Muhamood made it three to seal his hat-trick.

After match-day 11, Police have now collected 23 points and are fourth on the log.

Mbarara are 10th, a place above the relegation zone, with 10points garnered from 11games played.

What Next – Police play away from home to SC Villa on Saturday as Mbarara City host Vipers.

Players Used:

Police FC ; Tom Ikara (GK), Dennis Rukundo, Ruben Kimera, George Kiryowa, Hassan Mahmood, Sylvester Ssemakula, Muwadda Mawejje, Frank Tumwesigye, Brian Mululi, Johnson Odongo, Dancun Sseninde

Mbarara City – Muhammad Ssekeba (Gk), Zaidi Byekwaso, Jasper Aheebwa, Karim, Pitiisi Barenge, Edwok, Jude Ssemugabi, Swaliq Bebe,Wol Makueth, Henry Kitegenyi



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.