Busoga United Hold SC Villa To Record Fifth Draw

Tuesday, February 23
*Kyetume 2-2 Bright Stars
*Busoga United 1-1 SC Villa
*MYDA 1-4 Express
*Vipers 1-0 BUL
*Wakiso Giants 1-1 KCCA

Busoga United and SC Villa shared spoils in a StarTimes Uganda Premier League game played at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru.

Busoga united came into this game looking for their first win in the league but their search will continue for another Match-day.

Captain Douglas Muganga got the opener for the hosts when he sent in a powerful header from a Gerrard Bagoole corner in the 12th minute..

Just 5 minutes later, Isaac Ogwang levelled matters for the Jogoos thanks to his powerful shot after he had collected from a Sekiganda header.

Villa then settled in the game, having more of the possession, with Amir Kakomo and Emmanuel Wasswa bossing the midfield.

Nicholas Kabonge had earlier got the first chance for the visitors but his shot just went wide when the game was still goalless.

Joseph Nsubuga headed into the crossbar before Sekiganda was denied few minutes later by Rogers Omedwa as Villa searched for a winner.

In the 37th minute, Ogwang could have made it two for the visitors but his effort was cleared just off the line by George Kalyowa.

The best chance for Busoga United came in the 70th minute, but Isaac Wagoina missed on a one-on-one with goalkeeper Meddie Kibirige.

Both teams had few chances created in the second stanza and a draw was a perfect result for the game.

SC Villa move to 15 points after nine games played while Busoga remain winless in their opening nine games with five draws games and four losses.

What Next For Both Teams: Villa will host UPDF at the Bombo military grounds in Bombo, while Busoga United will visit URA FC at the Arena of Visions in Ndejje.

Players Used:

Busoga Starting – Omedwa Rogers (GK), Onen Franco, Muganga Douglas, Otwau Abubakar, Kalyowa George, Bagoole Gerald, Magero Balabala, Kirya Jeromy, Ssekulima Paul, Shaka Soozi, Wagoina Isaac

SC Villa XI – Meddie Kibrige (GK), Nsubuga, Derrick Ndahiro, Moses Kiggundu, Asuman Harishe, Amir Kakomo, Muhamad Ssenoga, Emmanuel Wasswa, Isaac Ogwanga, Ronald Ssekiganda, Nicholas Kabonge



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.