U17 AFCON: Lutalo to trim squad on Friday

Uganda U17 National Boys team coach Hamza Lutalo says they are to reduce on the number of players currently training at the FUFA Technical Centre in Njeru.

The cubs are in preparation for the 2021 AFCON U17 tournament to be held in Morocco next month.

Fourty one (41) players were summoned to start training but will now be trimmed to 30 according to Lutalo.

One of the two of the players from a broad, Nsambu Lloyd Tendon who features for Metz U-17 in France joined the camp yesterday to take the tally of players currently in camp to 40.

Speaking after Friday’s training, Lutalo said that they expect to reduce on the number.

“We have entered the third day in the camp, training is going on well as we gear up for the final tournament in Morocco. He started.

“We expect to reduce on the number by 10 players to remain 30, such that we can select the final 25 man squad for the final Tournament.”

For this year’s AFCON U17, the tournament expanded to 12 teams instead of the eight, previously.

To reach the finals, Uganda won the 2020 CECAFA U17 championship that was held in Rwanda.

Uganda played at AFCON U17 in 2019 for the first time, finishing third in group A in a Tourney hosted in Tanzania.

Squad which was summoned


Magada Abdu (Busoga United FC JT), Mwebe Henry (Express FC JT), Oyirwoth Humphrey (Express FC JT), Kamya Shamulan (Bright Stars FC JT), Ssekamwa Salim Abdul (Synergy FC), Ocama Daniel Ogwal (Boro Boro Super Sport)


Isiko Ismail (Sunset Academy-Mbale), Mulema Vincent (Kyetume FC JT), Ssonko Ssembatya Hafidhu (Kampala Junior Team), Anywar Abdul (Kibuli SS), Mungufeni Yabezi (Matete Comprehensive Seed), Ibrahim Juma (KCCA FC SA), Luyima Enock (Volf SA), Nsambu Lloyd Tendo (Metz FC U17, France), Gava Peter (Express FC JT), Madoi Ronald (Wakiso Giants FC JT),


Irinimbabazi Ivan (Bright Stars FC JT), Ssembusi Reagan (Kampala Junior Team), Jemba Abudshakur Ramsey (Isra SA), Alafi Ceasor (Matete Comprehensive Seed), Mukiibi Sadi (Devine Soccer ministries Academy), Mwokye Ronald (Dynamic SS), Mutyaba Travis (Vipers SC JT), Mulindwa Wycliff (Nakaseke international School), Ssekajugo Elvis (Bright Stars FC JT), Mutebi Hakim (St Henrys College-Kitovu), Mwanje Elvis Eddy (KCCA FC SA), Mudiba Samir (Express FC JT)


Magogo Shafiq (KCCA FC SA), Mubiru Hassan (Express FC JT), Mawa Oscar (KCCA FC SA), Jumbe Fahad (Vipers SC JT), Nyongesa Christopher (Rock High School-Tororo), Basil Tenywa Tuma (Eton College, United Kingdom), Bugembe Issa (Bright Stars FC JT), Mayanja Abu (Synergy FC), Khayemba Usama (Nkoma SS, Mbale), Mukiibi Marvin (Wakiso giants FC), Yahaya Toure (Oasis Primary school-Arua), Nyongesa Christopher (True Vine Soccer Academy), Busolo Paul (SC Villa JT)



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.