Hippos Off To Tanzania For Mini Tournament Ahead Of 2021 AFCON

The Uganda U20 football national team-Hippos have departed for Tanzania for a mini tournament ahead of the upcoming Under-20 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

The Hippos flew out of the country on Monday, February 1 at 8am, aboard Uganda Airlines with a contingent of 33 personal including 25 players.

Head coach Morely Byekwaso and his technical team announced the final 25-man squad on Sunday and also included the returning Vipers SC duo of Aziz Kayondo and Bobosi Byaruhanga.

The two were part of the Cranes-CHAN team that miserably exited the group stage last week with just a single point from three games.

Some of the Hippos players at Entebbe Airport on Monday, February 01. (PHOTOS/FUFA)

In Tanzania, the Hippos will take on both the host and Namibia between February 2-9 before departing for Mauritania where the AFCON tournament will be hosted.

Uganda who sealed their spot at the finals following triumph in the CECAFA U20 championships in 2019, are in Group A alongside hosts Mauritania, Cameroon and Mozambique.

Their first game will be against Mozambique on February 15 before taking on Cameroon two days later. The clash against the hosts will take place on February 20.

Tanzania are in Group C that also has Ghana, Gambia and Morocco.

Namibia are in Group B with Burkina Faso, Tunisia, Namibia, and the Central African Republic.

The two winners from each group will reach the quarter-finals alongside the two best third-place finishers from any of the two groups.

Full Hippos Contingent



Komakech Jack (Ascent SA), Oyo Delton (Busoga United FC), Ssenyondwa Denis Kaala (SC Villa).


Kizito Mugweri Gavin (SC Villa), Semakula Kenneth (Busoga United FC), Musa Ramathan (KCCA FC) Kafumbe Joseph (KCCA FC), Begisa James Penz (UPDF FC), Baligeya Simon (Kibuli SS), Abdul Azizi Kayondo (Vipers SC).


Mugulusi Isma (Busoga United FC), Yiga Najib (Vipers SC), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers SC) Sserwadda Steven (KCCA FC), Eyamu Ivan (Mbarara City FC), Kawooya Andrew (KCCA FC), Asaba Ivan (Vipers SC), Ssekajja Davis (Bright Stars FC), Wabyoona Faisal (Big Talent SA).


Bogere Ivan (Proline FC), Ssenyonjo Samuel (KCCA FC), Kakooza Derrick (Police FC), Basangwa Richard (Vipers SC), Bukenya Joseph Kizza (KCCA FC), Ssali Alpha Thierry (Proline FC).

Technical team

Richard Ochom – Leader of Delegation
Jackson Nyiima – Team Manager
Morley Byekwaso – Head Coach
Simeon Masaba – Assistant Head Coach
Steven Billy Kiggundu – Goalkeeping Coach
Yahaya Katumba – Team Doctor
Frank Bumpenje – Equipment officer
Alex Kasirye – Media Officer
James Ayebale – FUFA Delegate



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.