Masaza Cup: Buddu Edge Mawokota To Complete Semifinal Puzzle

Tuesday, January 19
*Bugerere 1-2 Gomba
*Buddu 2-0 Mawokota

Semifinals – Thursday
*Busiro Vs Gomba
*Bulemeezi Vs Buddu

Buddu beat Mawokota 2-0 in the last quarterfinal game of the 2020 Masaza Cup at FUFA Technical centre Njeru.

Substitute Farouk Ssekayi and Marvin Kavuma scored a goal each late in the second half to power Buddu into the semifinals.

Buddu will now face holders Bulemeezi as three-time winners Mawokota packs back home.

Despite their dominance, Mawokota failed to convert their chances and will have themselves to blame for the loss.

Buddu were second best on the day but upped their game in the closing stages when it mattered most.

Ssekayi started the move after receiving from Stephen Muwawu’s throw-in, and after a one-two, he was later released by Ssematimba to fire into the roof from inside the area in the 82nd minute.

Ssekayi later turned provider with a low cross for Kavuma who sliced home an exquisite finish in the added minutes.

Isaac Ofoyrwoth caused all sorts of trouble to Buddu from the right wing but his threats never yielded a goal for Mawokota.

Geoffrey Oyaka almost broke the deadlock when he forced Buddu goalkeeper Yawe Farouk Ssebanja into a low save.

At 1-0, Mawokota also missed a good chance to level matters when captain Musa Kasimba headed an inch wide from a lofty freekick.

Buddu on the other hand, saw Sharif Ssengendo’s low cross cleared away from danger after he beat the keeper at the byline.

Buddu had a penalty appeal denied by referee Richard Kimbowa when Ssematimba was tripped into the area as the 2016 winners tried to kill off the game.

How they lined Up:

Buddu XI – Ssebanjja Yawe Farouk, Namasa Edward, Muwawu Stephen, Kizza Angello, Ssengendo Sharif, Kavuma Marvin, Nsamba Fahad, Semugera Miisi Diego, Sematimba Titus, Odongo Gideon, Mwesigwa Emmanuel.

Substitutes – Kibuule Obbon, Ssekayi Farouk, Nsimbe Jibril, Mawejje Jovan, Sebuufu Frank.

Mawokota XI – Emojong Anthony, Matovu Faizo, Kintu Mike, Odongo Arnold, Kasimba Musa, Jjonga Nicholas, Ofoyrwth Isaac, Oyaka Geofrey, Oryee Douglas, Rutaganzwa Frank, Otim Joreme.

Substitutes – Kamya Shamran, Jurua Livingstone, Okullo Bruce, Ssekajugo Elvis, Oryem Tabu Simon.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.