Pre-Chan: Mckinstry Names Starting XI To Face Cameroon

Uganda Cranes coach Jonathan Mckinstry has named his starting team for the Pre-Chan mini tournament against Cameroon.

There is no place for expected Vipers trio Halid Lwaliwa, Paul Willa and Mohammed Shaban in the starting eleven.

Joel Mutakubwa beats Alionzi Nafian and Tom Ikara for a place in the goal posts.

Ashraf Mandela and Aziz Kayondo have been deployed at fullbacks while Mustafa Mujuzi and Patrick Mbowa have been used at the heart and of defence.

In what looks like a 4-3-3 system, Shafic Kagimu, Captain Tony Mawejje and Karim Watambala have been used in a three-man midfield.

However, the team is playing without a reputable striker as Ben Ocen, Joachim Ojera and Karisa Milton have been tasked to shoulder the goalscoring burden.

Team in brief:
Uganda Cranes XI – Joel Mutakubwa, Aziz Kayondo, Ashraf Mandela, Paul Mbowa, Mustafa Mujuzi, Tonny Mawejje, Karim Watambala, Ben Ocen, Joachim Ojera, Karisa Milton

Substitutes – Nafian Alionzi, Tom Ikara, Eric Ssenjobe, Hassan Muhammad, Bobosi Byaruhanga, Saidi Kyeyune, Hassan Ssenyonjo,Ibrahim Orit, Vianne Ssekajjugo, Joseph Ssemujju, Steven Mukwala, Mohamed Shaban

Did You Know: The last meeting between Uganda and Cameroon was in 2016, ending goalless.

In the 1988 AFCON Qualifiers, Uganda lost to Cameroon 5-1 in Yaounde. They won the second leg 3-1 in Kampala with Paul Hasule, Sunday Mokiri and Bogere on target but bundled out on 6-4 aggregate loss to miss the finals held in Morocco.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *