Who Onyango, Mckinstry, Aturo, Bulega Vote At FIFA Awards

Uganda, just like other FIFA members, voted at The Best FIFA Football Awards™ 2020 where Robert Lewandowski beat Lionel Messi and Christiano Ronaldo for the men’s gong.

Liverpool boss Jurgen Klopp was named the best coach ahead of Bayern Munich’s Hans-Dieter Flick while Lucy Bronze and Sarina Wiegman took the Women best player and coach respectively.

Football fans, selected media representatives, and the captains and head coaches of national teams (both men and women) vote for the selected categories above.

Uganda Cranes captain Denis Onyango picked Senegalese Liverpool star Sadio Mane as his first choice, put Mo Salah in second while Polish striker Lewandowski in third. His best coach selection had Hans Flick, Jurgen Klopp and Zinedine Zidane in first, second and third place respectively.

Coach Jonathan Mckinstry went for Mane, Lewandowski and Salah in that order. For coaches, the Northern Irishman went for Hans Flick in first position, followed by Klopp and Marcelo Bielsa.

Vision Group (Bukedde paper) journalist Stephen Mayamba voted for Lewandowski, Mane and Argentina captain Lionel Messi in that order. He had Hans Flick as his best coach, followed by Klopp and Bielsa.

In the Women category, Uganda was represented by captain Ruth Arturo, coach Faridah Bulega and senior journalist Mark Namanya.

Aturo picked Arsenal striker Vivianne Miedema as her best player followed by Barcelona’s Jennifer Hermoso and eventual winner Lucy Bronze an English and Man City right back.

For coaches, Arturo picked Juventus coach Rita Guarino in first place, followed by Lluís Cortés and Sarina Wiegman.

Coach Bulega went for Lyon’s Delphine Cascarino as her best player, followed by Lucy Bronze and Caroline Graham Hansen of Norway and Barcelona.

She nominated Jean-Luc Vasseur in first place as best coach while Stephan Lerch and Lluís Cortés in second and third places.

Namanya picked Lucy Bronze as her best player, followed by Germany and Lyon midfielder Dzsenifer Marozsán while Danish forward Pernille Harder who joined Chelsea from Wolfsburg recently, in third.

In the coaches section, Namanya picked Emma Hayes (Chelsea), Stephan Lerch (Wolfsburg) and Jean-Luc Vasseur (Lyon).

Elsewhere, Kenya’s Captain Victor Wanyama sent in Mane in first, Salah in second and Ronaldo in third. Kenya coach Jacob Mulee had Mane, Lewandowski and Mbappe.

Mbwana Semata (Tanzania) selected Lewandowski, Mane and Ronaldo while Rwanda captain Jacques Tuyisenge went for Mane, Salah and Messi.

Ahmed Musa of Nigeria voted for Messi in first place, followed by Lewandowski and Mane. Burundian Sadio Berahino put in Mane, Lewandowski and Salah.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *